Wander logo

Ghana Immigration & Police Stop White Skin & Light Skin Expats & Tourists for Bribery Money

When you live in a country for 2 years you can't afford to pay bribery money or have Ghanians pay to be with you

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1
Author Collage of Immigration & police officers I was able to catch on film

Friday, 26 May 2023

By: TB Obwoge

Ghana isn't worth all the headache and trouble, even more now that prices are getting higher. The scamming and corruption that has not changed over the last 3 years & stands at 81.6% is going to get worse.

The fact that this current president arrests citizens for simply insulting his looks are insane. However refuses do something about those in immigration and police that keep collecting bribes from innocent foreigners?

Authors Photo GHANA POLICE

What you can't see in the photo, they carry AK-47 machine guns in Ghana. There were 3–4 police officers. I'm seated in the front seat taking the photo, an overweight, evil, Ghanian female officer, stepped to the car when the one man realized I was a woman. 

She screams, "where's your nose masks?" Yes, with an S and it's not a nose mask it's a face mask, too stupid to think perhaps a foreigner doesn't know what we call it in Ghana. Or too stupid to know it's really called a face mask, either way she's screaming in my face. 

She bent into the car window, placing her face in mine. I don't know about other Black American women but I'm not one for the disrespect, I wanted to step out and lose my life if I had to. 

With 2 Ghanian men with me, that would've had to pay the price because the police cowardly pick on their own harder than anyone. Also if they ask their names, then tribalism would play a part in how they're treated good or bad.  

My ex fiancé, who's last name is the same as the president may or may not have been lucky. I held it together but I now wish I hadn't, I hate what was done to me in Ghana so much I'm angry with myself.

The police forced him out of the car, he's the backseat passenger. Why would a backseat passenger be removed from a car, I was so worried because I'm from America and all I thought about was his life. 

They never asked the driver for anything, no drivers license, nothing. They made me place a mask on but this was not a taxi or a shared ride. No where in Ghana were people from the same household to wear masks.

Get this, we spent all day and all night together in the same hotel in Ho, Ghana. We all knew each other, I'm getting angry again. I wish I had stepped out and gotten better photos of them. 

We were stopped over 6 times that day. Every time I said something about paying bribery fees, I let them know I won't pay and they would have to arrest me immediately.

My ex had to ask the driver for money because I refused to pay them anything and I told him when he leaned in the car that I was getting pissed. At that time he had no idea how bad my temper was, he begged me to stay in the car.

He was asked to pay them money because it was Easter Sunday and they wanted to collect bribery money for the holiday. This is probably why we were stopped so many times, the traffic wasn't heavy though, not at all. 

Authors Photo

Next stop by police and immigration officers: 

I didn't have my passport because it was in immigration headquarters where I was being scammed out of a few hundred extra dollars for my residency permit. The man asked to see my receipt which show proof it was with immigration. 

Also get this funny part Ghana was on alert for terrorism, in the short video you can see immigration letting a bus filled with people pass. They didn't get on the bus which is normal protocol to check for foreigners or possible terrorists. 

They were only stopped fat, heavily tattooed, "white" women instead of looking for terrorists. Traveling all the way to Tumu I knew they were supposed to check the bus, as they did when you traveled there. 

They always checked me and let the other darker skin people on the bus say they didn't have any ID. This is not only funny it shows you Ghana is wide open for terrorists if they're darker in skin color. There was also guess what A GHANA POLICE OFFICER already on the bus who saw me.

This immigration officer said they were told to stop all foreigners, I asked what made me look like a foreigner?

He refused to say it, he refused to say it was my skin color.

I would've been able to get it on video. I also asked why all those officers didn't check the bus, this stop had 10 or more police and immigration officers that let the bus that you see in the photo passed.

I was also screamed at, yes he raised his voice because I had a camera on my lap and was taking photos the entire drive. His raising his voice was why I cut the video off, the photo above is a screenshot from the video.

In Ghana it's not illegal to take photos of the scenery but if they think you're a white person I guess you can't do that. He made me put the camera away. This is what happens when you're not the right skin shade or they think you're white.

I love taking photos of bridges below you can see the Volta bridge that connects Ghana's Volta Region to the country. If there were no bridge then the Ewe people would be part of Togo.

Authors Photo

Authors Photo

Authors Photo

Authors Photo

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey's House efforts in Gender Equality & Children's Rights.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

solo travelhumanitytravel tipstravel photographytravel advicereviewcultureafrica
1

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.