Filthy logo

Ghana police officer sexually assaulted me when reported to IGP's office they didn't care

Ghana is lawless, only called safe because most citizens fear arrest but police, military and immigration don't fear the same

By IwriteMywrongsPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
Authors Photo on the same lot as the smaller East Legon Police Station which is on the LEFT when your back is towards the road East Legon Accra, Ghana

Friday, 23 April 2023 I was watching a live news broadcast on UTV News Ghana's Facebook page, when my body shook uncontrollably. my heart felt like it was going to explode. For a moment I couldn't figure out what was happening, it was a voice coming from the screen. With trembling hands I figured out how to roll back the footage, I had to see the face.

It wasn't him, why was I so shaken, I was so angry with myself. The voice sounded like that of the Ghana police officer who sexually assaulted me in his office. His voice is very distinctive to me, it's harsh and raspy I liken it to a frog, it is that annoying.

I had my identity stolen from a Ghanian man I trusted immensely. I was sent a text notification that he tried to create an account he was helping me to create but he had done so with his email. I clicked the link to notify the American agency that it was fraud immediately.

I was leaving the country for a moment, so I thought it best to file a police report in Ghana. I figured it would easily help me to get the ball rolling on filing reports in the US to protect myself.

I headed down to my local police office which was in East Legon. I had paid overpriced money to live in a small room, my ex assured me it was safer for me. He knew that the way I looked in Ghana got me too much attention, negative attention, perverts, street harassment often. He told me to move away from where I was living in Santa Maria, though I had the support of a family there.

Once I arrived at the police station, I was summened to the smaller building, not the headquarters which is in the photo above. Seated on the porch there he was Emmanual, I had a run in with him prior to that day.

My ex whom is a soldier came to where I was staying and brought the head of the East Legon station with him. We had an argument, the soldier thought I would report it to the Ghana Army. I won't speak of the things that happened in that room, not now.

The officer Emmanual though continued to contact me, asking to come see me. I ended up blocking his number but I took a screenshot of his information.

There he was seated on the front porch, as soon as I alighted from the Bolt car he summened me over to him. He says, "Tracie you've finally come to see me?" To which I replied, no I'm here to make a report. He ushered me into his huge office, it was through the doors to your left.

Authors screenshot from WhatsApp

I was given harsh looks by some people behind the front reception desk, in Ghana I was used to those looks, they think I'm white. Women are the ones who mainly look angry when they see me with a Ghanian man, always thinking we're a couple. Ghanian women dislike seeing their men with white women, common, I don't blame them many Black women feel this.

Yet they at least can tell the difference from another Black woman though.

Once in the office he said a few things about my body, to which I ignored, I told him what had happened to me. He said they'd need to make a report, he didn't take it, he called out for another officer to do so. The man handed me a sheet of their police paper to write what happened, then he left.

Over the next 2 1/2 hours I was left seated in Emmanual's office. Where he said, "I have a big dick!" Several times, exclaiming how I would love it. Once he grabs his penis, holding it he says, "It's very big, you want to see it?"

I looked down to his tan khaki pants to see this man's penis ran the length of his leg from his groin area down to his knee. He was a tall, thin man so his legs were pretty long. I was immensely angry with myself for allowing my eyes to go there.

He disgusted me and I replied with a quick retort that my husband's was big and I was fine with his. I wasn't lying, I wasn't legally registered as married but yet Yaw was, ugh another story.

Screenshot of a definition of sexual assault

I was supposed to be meeting another American man for lunch, traffic this day was horrific. I text him, as Emmanual left his office several times, I wanted to tell him where I was and what was happening so he'd know. He and I decided that I would pull out one of my other phones to record Emmanual. He then asked would I like him to come to me, with traffic and him being so far I said no I couldn't stay in that office much longer.

Emmanual came bursting back into the room, I was told I had to rewrite the entire report it was too much detail. I took in a deep sigh and started again, in the US the police listen to you and they write the reports. Ghana's British style policing is very annoying, nothing was digitalized and no police report numbers are given.

In Kenya it is different, each complaint is logged into a huge book that looks centuries old. You are then given a police report number written on a strip of paper, not comparing just noting that all African countries aren't the same.

Over that time Emmanual grabbed and squeezed my right breast, tried kissing on me, he continued with his lewd sexual comments. Even as I tried to get him to help me quickly write another report.

They brought him his lunch, he offered me some, to which I told him I was late for my own lunch meeting. He then took a piece of his tilapia, walked over to my face to give me some. I reached for it with my right hand, he quikcly shoved it into my mouth, where he stuck his finger in & out of my mouth repeatidly. I jerked my head back as I'm now choking on fish and fighting the movement of his finger.

After he removed it, he tried to stick his finger in my mouth once more, I had enough so I pushed his body away from me. I was so nervous but I was so angry, I wanted to hurt him but I was in Ghana. The country isn't proper like one would imagine, not by any means.

Here it is he thinks I'm white, he knows I'm an American yet this didn't matter to him. I can imagine what he's done to Ghanian women before this day, I can only imagine.

Ghana claims women no longer pay this rape fee again it's not true still in 2023 women are being asked for money. The amounts continue to change, this is part of the lawlessness of Ghana, girls and women are walking around without justice. They have to often times even look their rapists in the face everyday as they're known to them.

Here is all I was able to obtain in the recording, to which I gave to the Ghana police but they said it wasn't enough. My word wasn't enough, the recording wasn't enough, Ghana isn't enough for humanity or human rights, women alone aren't safe.

I'm so angry at myself, I feel like I let this happen to me, what should I have done? I don't know but I feel like I should have done something. Ghana stole so much from me, so much pain and abuse within that country. I will never in life encourage another soul to lay foot in that country, why did I allow so much abuse to take place there?

I had no place to go and not enough money, that is why. I moved my entire life there and I've gone from top to bottom of the country. I had traveled extensively because of my relationship with the soldier. Places were nice like Tumu, even Wa though a lot of serious crime takes place there. It is peaceful enough during the day, there is a large military barracks located there as well.

The police, the military and the immigration officers can do whatever they Hell they want in that country. No one will ever stop them.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

humanity
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.