Pride logo

Coming out as Gay to My Mum Was Completely Horrendous

I endured four years of hell when I came out as all my friends and family disowned me for being gay.

By Sam H ArnoldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Hey, Mum. I never told you this before, but I am gay. I have suspected that I have been for a while. It started with the dreams, at first. I thought I was a man in the dreams seducing women, but soon I realised I was still female. I dreamed about being with women; it took me years to discover why. I kept it to myself; I felt embarrassed to share this with anyone. I genuinely thought there was something wrong with me.

I tried so hard to be a good daughter and follow the life you wanted for me. I dated many men; I put aside that I never loved any of them; I thought I was incapable of love. I enjoyed being with them, but something was always missing from my life. Finally, I married a man I didn't love, because I thought it was the thing to do. I wanted children, so a man was needed, at least that's what I thought.

When he couldn't give me children, I was lost. I was stuck in a relationship I never wanted to be in, and now I could not fulfil my dreams. And yes, the dreams kept coming all those times with a beautiful dark-haired woman who drove me crazy.

The end of the marriage was the day I found out I couldn't have children. Still, I tried to be the perfect daughter and make it work. I was an idiot. A friend once told me that she was worried I would wake up in my fifties and be depressed, knowing I was stuck with someone I didn't love with no chance of a family. At the time, she knew me better than I knew myself. It didn't stop her from disowning me when I moved in with a woman like so many others.

By Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Then it happened, I fell in love. Yes, it was with a woman. I fought the feelings, I didn't want to let you down and disappoint you, but the feelings were too strong. Finally, I fell in love for the first time in my life. I knew the butterflies in the stomach that everyone mentioned when you saw the person of your dreams. I knew what it meant to give your heart to another and realise they held it in their hand. I'm sorry it wasn't with a man like you hoped.

The day I admitted to her and myself that I was gay was when my life started. I stopped living a lie and started being me. Then my family and friends fled from my life. I had to live because no one liked the real me. Except for me, I like myself for the first time.

Was I always gay? I don't know. All I know is that now I am happy and have everything I want because, ironically, it was easier to have the children I craved with a woman than with a man.

Most of all, though, mum, I am sorry for how you found out. I should have sat down and talked to you like we always did. I should have told you one to one, but instead, I had to text you and tell you. I was forced into a corner; I was so scared that someone would tell you before me. So I took the chance that me telling you any way I could was better than hearing it from someone else.

This is the conversation I wish I had with you rather than what I did. So I am sorry, not sorry I am gay, but sorry you found out the way you did.

If you enjoyed this article, please subscribe to my writing, share it and give it a heart. As a writer tips and pledges mean a great deal to me, so a massive thank you if you send one.

Identity
1

About the Creator

Sam H Arnold

Writing stories to help, inspire and shock. For all my current writing projects click here - https://linktr.ee/samharnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.