Potent logo

You Can't Spell Healthcare without THC

"You can’t complain when you’ve got Mary Jane.” — Unknown

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Top Story - August 2022
52

Mary-Jane is my favourite name. I'm not ashamed in saying I LOVE smoking cannabis, but not for recreational purposes. I live in England, so it is completely illegal. Nevertheless, as of 2018, the medical use of cannabis through the NHS was legalised. The smell of cannabis in England is not an uncommon one. 98% of cannabis in Britain is homegrown, and we now have more cannabis in our country than in The Netherlands. When they announced the changes and started selling CBD oil in shops, for people like me (disabled) this was hope that one day we wouldn't have to separate ourselves and feel bad for wanting to be out of pain just to go about our day.

Yet years on and cannabis on the NHS is not fully established enough and it's very difficult to get it. Not to mention it costs way more than what it does on the street. It just seems to me another way of exploiting vulnerable people, who don't have much money as it is. It's as if they are using pain relief as poly to gain profits. It feels rather American to me, and as a Brit, I am horrified. Our NHS is one of the best things about Britain, we all pay taxes for it, now some of us (mainly the vulnerable) are having to pay ridiculous amounts on top, never mind the bloody parking fees!

I do have a blue badge which gives me free parking, but I still got to pay for the said badge. Accommodating disabilities is not a privilege, and I hate that it is perceived that way.

I remember the first time I tried cannabis. It was right after a music concert that I was a part of, I felt like a rock star. I was still in my school uniform (not good I know) but I distinctly remember munching on a bag of chips (fries if you're American) and thinking God these are the best chips I've ever eaten in my f*cking life. I ate the whole bag, which for me was unusual at the time because back then I didn't know that I was suffering from an eating disorder. When I stood up to walk home, I was free. It was a 'huh? I can move...the pain is gone...holy sh*t I can move!'

I made it home in ten minutes when usually it would take twenty. To my horror I realised, sh*t got to hide from mum; she never noticed. Anyway, I remember spending the next two or so hours dancing in my room so freely that I can see myself clear as day twirling around, lip-singing my way around my room as I put on the most epic performance for the ghosts of the house, that it felt like I was headling at Live Aid 1985.

There's nothing more infuriating than being in a body that you can't change. For me as a disabled person, my body is my prison. Chronic pain sucks and so does Cerebral Palsy and everything else that comes with that. What makes it worse is that people think being disabled means free sh*t, which it definitely does not. The number of people I know that openly fake having a disability, while I have to prove my pain, prove that I was indeed born with this body, and no matter how many operations or hospital appointments I have is never going to change that.

I've had morphine from the age of eight, so when I ring 111 (NHS helpline) they always suggest paracetamol or ibuprofen, as if that's going to do anything. When I ring my GP they suggest codeine, or co-codamol, something I have been familiar with since my first operation. It works but not for long, and that shit is so addictive, that people die from it. How many celebrities have become addicted because of it? Or died because of prescription drugs? Nah, I found the relief for me.

I'm the type of stoner that does the washing up after I smoked. I clean the house and write non-stop. I make sure my little one has everything he needs and he is happy. He is never near me when I do smoke and I go to extra lengths to ensure the smoke is confined to one room, which is well ventilated. When I smoke it's as if my disability goes away, and just for a while, I feel like a 'normal' person in a 'normal' body. It's amazing and most liberating.

Yet I feel like a criminal, I am not ashamed, but I do feel guilty, because of the stigmatisation still surrounding cannabis. Despite the numerous health benefits, studies and results that have been released over the years, people still have this idea that a stoner can't be productive, and that are lazy losers who will never amount to anything in life. I smoked it now for ten years, and I am in the last year of my Masters'. It lets me live my life free of pain, and the bonus is it helps with my eating.

Imagine spending your days with what feels like a metal rod up your back that is full of electrical currents. Now and then this rod sends shocks to your brain, your back, and your legs. You have no control over this. Your mind understands why it happens. You cannot do anything about it. So you move to get comfort. You find a hint of relief only for the currents to spark up again. You then repeat this all day, and people will ask 'Why can you never stand still when you're talking?' This is life. It has been for as long as I can remember and it will be like this forever.

Until - smoke. The metal rod vanishes, and the current short circuit loses all its power, while in turn, I gain mine. You cannot spell healthcare without THC. CBD is a start, but it needs to be better. I and many other disabled people rely on cannabis for relief. It is not a drug, it is nature, and the idea that nature is illegal makes me think, we should all be then? We are nature are we not? It's just beyond our comprehension as to why. Cannabis is not for everyone, but that's why there are different medicines out there, that's why people receive different treatments, therapy etc. If it didn't smell you wouldn't know and perhaps wouldn't care. Most people I meet are fairly understanding, but others just don't get it. They just see someone they can look down on, which I am very much used to.

In Britain, 53% of policing is spent dealing with binge drinkers. I have cerebral palsy and I am constantly asked if I am drunk. You know there's a drinking problem in your country when people can't distinguish between drunk and disabled. I a stoner, am breaking the law for sitting in my home, smoking in my jim-jams watching Doctor Who or Merlin, while Dave and his mates from the pub are shouting, falling all over the place and picking fights because so and so lost the match today.

You see the problem too right? Now, whenever you smell weed in public just think, at least I'm not sober in a room full of drunks. At least we got good tunes, and great snacks, those guys got dehydration and probably an unwanted STI. Yet we are the baddies yes? Of course.

I've been putting off this article for a while, but I realise how important it is to speak about things we are afraid of for the fear of being judged. But judge away, I don't care. You don't pay my rent. My house is clean, my child is cared for, and I am proactive and productive. Judge as you please. I am a disabled person just trying to get through life, one joint at a time.

Check out Professor Green's documentary on cannabis, it's amazingly informative, and shows that stoners exist everywhere from the bottom of the working class all the way to the top!

Don't forget to subscribe and leave a like :)

health
52

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    This is awesome!!!! I too am the kind of stoner who does the washing up after a spliffy. Cannabis is so multifaceted and can be such a fantastic healthcare tool. Thank you for writing and sharing this.

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    Great article! I live in the US, in a state where cannabis is legal for recreational use. But the dispensaries are expensive, so this caused the black market (your friendly neighborhood weed guys) to explode. Still a lot of stigma around it in this country as well. Marijuana helps me with my pain and also my anxiety and insomnia. More research and information is needed. I wish anti-marijuana people would just realize it isn't a drug, it is provided by nature, and people don't die from overdoses.

  • Abdullah6 months ago

    The artical is so great i you to write more

  • oliverwillia487 months ago

    Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate. https://gutscheinfuralles.de/

  • I strongly urge you to look into Joe Dispenza and his groundbreaking research. Also Marissa Peer and her work on limiting beliefs. Wim hof in regards to breathwork and ice therapy. There are infinite ways to heal the body. But if the mind does not believe it’s even possible, it will not seek out ways. I have witnessed people with ‘terminal’ and aggressive cancers healing. I have seen people with severe MS reverse it fully. Even dementia is fully reversible. The evidence is there in plain sight. But you will not get this signposting from your GP. Not for another 10 years probably.

  • Hope Martin10 months ago

    Respect!! For me… my mom has MS. None of the pain meds they prescribe her touch her pain. She hates the feeling of being high but weed is the only thing that helps her fall asleep. Being in pain from the top of your head to the bottom of your feet 24 hours a day 365 really messes with her. What boils me over is - the doctors at hospitals will treat her like a pill addict. Because that’s a huge issue over here in Merica. But she doesn’t want pills what she wants is for them to humanely euthanize her - she’s in so much pain. All the time. And then these wretched addicts get treated better and get handed pills but my mother can’t even get anything stronger than codine and she’s treated like garbage by doctors who haven’t taken time to learn her condition. The government substitutes one addiction for a legal one here - meth for methodone, or suboxone. But god forbid they legalize THC because big pharmaceutical company can’t interfere with that unless it’s lab created. So our disabled continue to suffer. I’m with you. I cry because my moms disease has destroyed everything that makes her happy- dancing, cooking, Playing with her grand children. If they would only legalize it- or approve her for medical use - she could have relief… it’s not right. I’ll be honest I used to grow it just for my mom. And I’d give extra to other friends or family that suffer from chronic pain. I stopped when I had my first child because then I had more to lose if I got caught and arrested. But I did… and if I wasn’t so afraid of losing my children I would in a heart beat again.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    A very powerful piece, Rosie! Marijuana is legalized here in California and I have friends it's done wonders for. We need to get rid of the stigma ❤️ Much love!

  • Thank you for this excellent piece, well deserved Top Story

  • Anna Samson2 years ago

    I’m disabled as well and this article really resonated with me! I’m a fellow thc/cbd user as well and I completely relate to feeling more ‘normal’ when I take it

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Lots of truth. Great article!

  • N.J. Gallegos 2 years ago

    This was a great article. I’m in the States and live in a state where recreational marijuana is legalized. I also am an ER doc so I see a gamut of substance use. I totally agree, give me a stoner as a patient any day compared to someone intoxicated on alcohol. And as another aside, my stepdad dealt with liver cancer and the narcotics didnt so much for his pain but edibles helped significantly. We have to remove the stigma of marijuana use!

  • Heather Lunsford2 years ago

    Great article. Very brave. I live in one of the states where medical Mary Jane has been approved. I have cancer that has spread to my bones. Like you I Ave tried many pain pills. I they make me ill, then I have to take pills for that. I use edibles. Best pain management ever. Plus it helps me sleep. Plus it helps with apatite. Like you my insurance will pay for the drugs that I hate but not the pot that works. Stay strong, do what works.

  • Loved your piece and applaud your strong writing voice and advocacy.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Well done! Canada legalized cannabis in 2017, and too many doomsayers thought that the country would collapse. And all I remember about that day and the rest were the lineups at the government shops...and how more people are imbibing THC than alcohol. No one should feel like a criminal for using nature's own. ;)

  • Johnathan2 years ago

    Loved your article ❤️❤️ Please write more

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    M O O N - that spells THC! :) Loved your article and love the topic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.