Potent logo

Why I Won't Give Up Vaping

My Life, My Choice

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
27
Why I Won't Give Up Vaping
Photo by Chiara Summer on Unsplash

In my younger years, I used to be a smoker. I started with two, then before I knew it I was buying ten, then twenty, then forty.

It got to a point where I was smoking all day, every day.

Like many young teenagers, I didn't start smoking of my own accord. I started because of peer pressure and bullying.

The kids in my days thought smoking was cool. I was pressured through bullying and name-calling. I am not here to encourage kids to smoke, I strongly disagree with any kid or teenager smoking. I am here to talk about how vaping helps me to stay away from cigarettes and rollies.

Now, let me make this clear.

Vaping is not a stop-smoking device. It is an alternative to smoking and should be used appropriately. It should not be used as an alternative to try and get your kids to stop smoking, because it works similar to smoking and may encourage them rather than discourage them.

I was choking on the smoke, coughing, unable to breathe and walking around in smoke-smelling clothes.

I didn't want to live like this anymore, so about five years ago, I started vaping.

Yes, I tried nicotine patches and other stop-smoking aids, and none of them worked for me. By the end of the day, I was chewing my fingers until they were sore. I didn't want to end up back on rollies or cigarettes, so I tried vaping. I have been vaping for a while now, and I have never touched a cigarette or rollie since.

Since I started vaping; I have been able to breathe better, I cough less and I don't crave cigarettes.

The tar in cigarettes is more dangerous than nicotine.

Yes, nicotine is addictive, but it is the tar that ruins your lungs and causes other problems the most.

There is a lot of controversy in the world when it comes to vaping versus cigarettes, and while I have no scientific evidence to back it up, I do have personal experience to back up my own experience of vaping below.

  • I can breathe better and I'm not always gasping for breath.
  • I no longer smoke, and I've never looked back.
  • I vape less, whereas I used to smoke more.
  • My breath and my clothes are cleaner for it.
  • The air around me is cleaner for it.
  • I haven't visited the doctor with breathing problems for a very long time.
  • I buy less liquid than I did cigarettes and tobacco.

We know smoking causes cancer, however, the information around vaping isn't that accurate in terms of proof that vaping also causes cancer. The tar in cigarettes builds up in your lungs, and that has been proven to cause many problems.

There is a lot of advice about vaping, but before I judge it, I will wait for solid proof.

Obviously, there have been problems with e-cigarette devices leaking and burning with some products. I get mine from a proper vape shop in Boscombe, U.K. though there are many other reputable shops across the world.

The shop where I get my vaping products is staffed by friendly staff who are always welcoming and ready to help. I have rarely had faulty equipment or problems with anything that I have ever bought from here, and I have always had straight, upfront and honest advice.

I have been going to this shop for a number of years, and I wouldn't go anywhere else because this shop provides a wonderful and very honest service to its customers, which I value.

If I was to stop vaping, I'd be back on the cigarettes and rollies in no time, and I fought hard to stay away from those.

E-liquids do come in a variety of flavours, which makes vaping more pleasant and satisfying. However, as I say:

It's my life, my choice.

I am an adult and I make my own decisions.

humanity
27

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Shazee Tahir3 months ago

    great to read amazing work please check my profile also

  • Steven5 months ago

    This text is great to read

  • Abdullah6 months ago

    Finally someone write on smoking

  • Not a fan of vaping or smoking but great article

  • Karsten Stephensabout a year ago

    giving up vaping is so hard if you don't have a sauna

  • Josh Clements2 years ago

    I also used to smoke and now vape. Never gone back to cigarettes. Completely agree, it is a far healthier alternative; not good for you, but 95% less dangerous than conventional cigarettes is saving lives.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.