Poets logo

Zombie Attack (Narrative Poem) - Pt2

Cowardice or acceptance?

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Zombie Attack (Narrative Poem) - Pt2
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

Within high walls, securing and protecting

From those beasts out there, their voice still projecting

The call of terror and death it came to be

Whenever it sounds, death was guaranteed

It sent shivers down the young and old alike

Death is never discriminate; we are all alike

Everyone huddled for warmth and comfort

All thinking “if not them, then its the hunger”

Trapped, with a simple wall separating

The living from their fate. Isn’t it just infuriating

The life we’re forced to lead in this forsaken land

Where the dead are rampant and forever expand

For now, let’s relax and later disband

--

As I awoke, I heard the call

The call of death was deafening to all

Fear swept around like a trawl

I quickly gathered things and readied to haul

Then I saw torso of a beast in a crawl

Those next to me were shocked and appalled

I quickly cocked the gun and its brains I sprawled

I run outside to have a look and I bawled

“The beasts are in, spilling in over the wall!”

All I see is brawls, and the beasts, they maul

I did what I could. I did my best to forestall

But I won’t survive, if any longer I stall

--

Goodbye everyone, my duty is complete

All to their own now. It’s time to retreat

There’s nothing else to do. An impossible feat

To compete with numbers so high and actually beat

Courage rendered obsolete

In front of unrelenting defeat.

performance poetrysurreal poetry

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.