Poets logo

Zaddiq-ness

Righteousness: An Abecedarian Poem

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
28
Zaddiq-ness
Photo by Louis Hansel on Unsplash

A

blessed

confluence,

dovelike,

enlighted,

fortuitously

gracious,

hallowed,

inclusive,

jovial &

kind.

-

Love

made manifest.

-

Nascent

oceans of

perfect

qaṣīda

rising

sacrificially

toward

unabashedly

venerable & veracious,

warm-hearted,

xenacious &

yare

zaddiq-ness.

-

Glossary:

Qaṣīda: (Arabic) Intention; form of Arabic poetry or ode; petition to a patron.

Xenacious: (used here in the sense of) with a yearning for change.

Yare: set for action; ready.

Zaddiq-ness: righteousness (zaddiq is Hebrew for “righteous”); “The verse in Pro 10:25 gave this term a cosmic meaning: the zaddiq is the foundation of the universe (axis mundi)” [from Zaddiq — Brill (brillonline.com)]

Friendshipsocial commentaryinspirationalFree Verse
28

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam2 months ago

    You had so many beautiful transitions and language here. 

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    First and foremost this was shear beauty, secondly thank you for the super introduction to new and enticing language.

  • Gerald Holmes3 months ago

    Very well done Randy. And thanks for the Glossary at the end, I now have a few new words to add to my vocabulary.

  • Gina C.3 months ago

    This is so beautiful and spiritual, Randy! Breathtaking, really. I love the word choices! 😍

  • Well done. Bravo Randy. I always enjoy learning new words

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Thanks, Randy! Lovely, deep, and I learned some new words!

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    This is interesting. I am listening to a memoir (bear with me) that talks about the implications of the movie The Philadelphia Story on the role of women and relationships. A line in the move has Hepburn Speaking of the ship True Love, and later regarding herself, as being ‘Yar’ Now, I wonder, is that the same word you used? Perhaps a derivative? Audio books/ who knows how the word is spelled. But to both hear and see the word within a few hours- how delicious!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I love when I learn new words!

  • Atomic Historian3 months ago

    Beautiful Randy! Also, I should eat before reading, because I read qaṣīda as quesadilla

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Oh, I so love the "Nascent oceans of perfect qaṣīda rising". This is so lovely Randy. Blessed peace arising. Beautiful. I was off for a few days, trying to catch up. Be blessed and highly favored. But you already are...peace.

  • I learnt two more words than the ones in the glossary! Fortuitously and Nascent! Loved your poem so much!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Randy, I love this. I think that this could be about so many things: love, harmony, spirituality.

  • Wonderful Randy!!! I love the word Xenacious. That describes me. I am one of those forward moving people that is always looking for something new and always changing things up. I love the challenge of change.

  • Randy, this is beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautifully written piece. And thanks for glossary.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Clever, original, lovely and thought provoking. Thanks for including the glossary. I love the idea of the foundation of the universe - axis mundi. I encountered a similar concept in Martin Prechtel's memoir 'The Secret of the Talking Jaguar.' In it he explains the Tzutujil belief in the center of the universe - the umbilicus. The Tzutujil people are a small Highland Mayan group that mostly live in Santiago on the south shore of Lake Atilan, in Guatemala.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I just went off and google two of those words before I noticed the glossary - which was far more help than Google! Nicely done, very uplifting.

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    Love it, great job, Brother

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Excellent flow and structure Randy - and very enlightening in subject and word choice! 😊👏 Good luck!

  • Kelly Sibley 3 months ago

    ...... this is outstanding! I am in awe!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    This was educational and revealing, sir!

  • Tom Baker3 months ago

    Pretty nice.

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Beautiful 💗When you look up Zaddiqness your poetry come up on google

  • Colleen Millsteed 3 months ago

    This is brilliant Randy and I’m so pleased you included the glossary at the end or I would have had to start googling lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.