Poets logo

your vodka and spite.

Inspired by Taylor Swift’s ‘Closure’

By Poppy Published 22 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
44
Image Created on Midjourney

I have cut my hands

On the silhouette of your name

For a year now

You got my letter

My question

My plea

Fed it to the fire

Watched its ashes

Join that of your empathy

You claim you’re doing better

Brag about not needing that one thing

I was dying without (closure)

I tried to smooth out

The jaggedness of your jealousy

The sharp edge of your

Newfound cruelty

You might be fine with

Your vodka and spite

But I will not settle for

Anything less than a

Clear conscience and

Weightless shoulders

You got my letter

Tore it to pieces like

You once so nonchalantly

Did to me

You were a devastating chasm

In the life I was forced

To live without you

An absence I could

Barely breathe around

And I was reaching through

An empty sky

Searching

Not for you but

For that explanation

You must’ve buried with

Your heart

I checked everywhere

For your letter

And now I run my fingers

Along its absence and

Thank you for your

Wordless answers

It’s been a lifetime

And a handful of

Apocalypses but

The shape of your name

No longer spells out anything

Except for the past and

The cracks of my mosaic heart

I write a new letter

Introduce it to a match

Watch as my heartbreak

Settles amongst the ashes

Finally understanding

Closure does not equal moving on

Acceptance does

And now

Your absence is

That weightlessness

On my shoulders

You can keep

Your vodka and spite

But I will stay soft

If it is the last thing I do

❀❀❀❀❀

The Song:

Free Verse
44

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Gloria Penelope2 days ago

    Congratulations on TS!

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Mika Oka6 days ago

    Such poignant piece

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 days ago

    Wow, I really felt the impact of this piece!! The melancholia and sense of healing that this gave off was something I needed today! Thank you and congratulations on Top Story Poppy!!

  • Abdul Qayyum6 days ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • At last! Well deserved Top Story!✅🤩

  • angela hepworth7 days ago

    What a piece!! Congrats on top story!

  • Congrats Poppy!

  • JBaz7 days ago

    I like that you shard our inspiration with us, and the way you made it your own. Great job and Congratulations

  • Dana Crandell7 days ago

    A great turn of phrase and a thriumphant poem written around it. Congratulations, Poppy!

  • Christy Munson7 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Wonderful piece!!! 🥳

  • Jazzy 7 days ago

    I love using music to guide my poems! This was brilliant and well done! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your TS category. This is truly TS. This is truly Amazing.... Wonderful .... Heartfelt ..... I never wrote my ex a letter. I knew he'd never read it. He just left and thought he'd break me to pieces. I was glad when I proved him wrong. GREAT story!!

  • Mackenzie Davis12 days ago

    Damn! I adore that it was inspired by this song. A perfect reply!! I love love love this, Poppy. We're kind of hearing the other side, and kind of hearing a different story, unrelated to the song's narrative. It's a fun place to be, not sure which one it is. I think there's something so hurtful in a person refusing to give closure. Like, sure acceptance is the next best thing but closure isn't something you can just conjure. It isn't possible to get it alone. You just accept, but still feel the missing pieces that the other person can fill. Them alone. So I love this poem because you bring out that truth. But it's true; you can't move on until you accept the situation, regardless of closure. I just think that spite likes to cling on to a situation that wasn't properly sealed shut. "You claim you’re doing better Brag about not needing that one thing I was dying without (closure)" So good!

  • Wonderful! My favorite parts: ‘Finally understanding Closure does not equal moving on Acceptance does’ ‘But I will stay soft If it is the last thing I do’ I will be thinking about this for days, and carry those sentiments with me. 💗

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    ‘A handful of apocalypses’ Absolutely loved that line! Excellent work, Poppy!

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    Wow. This is simply beautiful. Well done!

  • D.K. Shepard16 days ago

    Love this and love the inspiration! How great for art to inspire art! This was very well done!

  • Shirley Belk18 days ago

    love how you are determined to be better and not bitter!

  • Kenny Penn18 days ago

    Beautiful Poppy. Just reading this poem felt therapeutic to me, I can only imagine writing it. I loved the lines about acceptance being better than closure, but the whole piece is wonderful

  • ROCK 21 days ago

    Absolutely you are one of the best poets/ writer's I have read on The Vocal and elsewhere. This reminded me of a cruel love I once knew.

  • I was sooooo excited that this was inspired by Closure! My favourite were these stanzas: "I have cut my hands On the silhouette of your name For a year now" "You got my letter Tore it to pieces like You once so nonchalantly Did to me"

  • Hayley Matto21 days ago

    Poppy this was incredibly powerful, intimate and emotionally vulnerable. I'm so sorry that you have had to feel this type of sadness without closure, you captured it so accurately. Right out the gate with "I have cut my hands/On the silhouette of your name" GOSH DAMN!! I think I made this face in real life. 😮‍💨 Incredibly well done as per always! 🤍🖤

  • I relate to your prose of loss and pain

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.