Poets logo

A Reclaiming

a list

By Poppy Published 24 days ago 1 min read
13
Image Created on Midjourney

Note: This was inspired by a comment Paul made about my March Prompts. He mentioned the words made him think of things left behind and a poem instantly started writing itself in my head when I read that. Thanks Paul.

The things you left behind

•Hail

A cold hard cruelty that cut my skin and confidence.

•Mould

That grew and grew and left me sick and wheezing.

•Vanilla

Where once my mood was strawberry and cinnamon. (I had to find beauty in the ordinary.)

•Compass

Broken and pointing me nowhere. Useless, like I felt.

•Spiderwebs

In a deserted building. Holding me in place while I waited for the dark to consume me.

The things I reclaimed

•Sunlight

•Oxygen

•Strawberry and Cinnamon

•North

•Me

inspirationallist
13

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard23 days ago

    Loved the stylistic choices in formatting! This is excellent!

  • Shirley Belk24 days ago

    love the reclaiming you've done!

  • It's amazing how much emotion comes through the rhythm of your words in this. Absolutely amazing!

  • Anna 24 days ago

    Beautiful and what a great idea!

  • Well done 👍🏼 So glad you reclaimed good things 🥹

  • Gosh this was so beautiful! I love how it turns from being poignant to positive!

  • Babs Iverson24 days ago

    Brilliantly expressed!!! Loving it!!!♥ ♥ ♥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.