Poets logo

If I Gave You a Moment

Would it be the same?

By Cathy holmesPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
18
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

If I gave you a moment, would you look in my eyes?

If I gave you a minute, would you think it was wise?

Would you ask me to dinner or run at first glance?

If I gave you an evening, would you give me a chance?

*

If I gave you a day, like that day long ago,

would you hold me forever and never let go?

Would you promise to love me for all of our time?

Would you give me a ring? Would you vow to be mine?

*

If I gave you a heartbeat forged from our own,

would you cherish the decades from baby to grown?

Would you soothe all her worries and dry all her tears?

And hold her in your heart for all of your years?

*

If I gave you a lifetime, would it ever be enough?

Would we still feel the romance? Would we run out of love?

If I gave you a moment, could you look in my eyes?

If I gave you a minute, could you still say good-bye?

love poemsFamily
18

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 8 days ago

    Well written!!

  • Real Poetic14 days ago

    Beautiful, and it reads like a song. So lovely.

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    I am crushed from the beautiful depth of this! Love this line: "If I gave you a heartbeat forged from our own" You outdid yourself on this one, Cathy!

  • D.K. Shepard17 days ago

    So much powerful imagery captured in a series of questions! Beautiful poem with a heartbreaking ending.

  • L.C. Schäfer17 days ago

    I love "a heartbeat forged from our own"

  • Donna Fox (HKB)18 days ago

    This was so beautiful Cathy!!

  • Caroline Craven18 days ago

    Oof. What a last line. This was excellent.

  • Mariann Carroll18 days ago

    I love this poetry 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Kodah18 days ago

    The last line was like the cherry on top. Beautifully done Cathy! 💌

  • Hannah Moore19 days ago

    Oh, the last line. I loved it all though, the last line was just icing.

  • Rachel Deeming19 days ago

    A sad wistfulness to this, Cathy. I think they're like song lyrics too. A country song. Loved it.

  • This felt very lyrical and I sang it to my own tune. That last line was very said though. Gosh imagine someone says yes to that. I would cry and die. Loved your poem!

  • Ah, Cathy, those questions we all beat ourselves up about over love. But we keep loving. So even though there is a sad element your poem, it's rather bittersweet because we keep trying. Wonderful job, my friend!

  • I loved the way it written.

  • John Cox19 days ago

    Another wonderful and sad poem, Cathy, especially given the photo you chose.

  • Lamar Wiggins19 days ago

    -If I gave you a lifetime, would it ever be enough? Would we still feel the romance? Would we run out of love?- Deep thought and question, Cathy. The idea of running out of love like you would sugar or milk is kind of scary, but it happens. It's not like you can got to the store to replenish love. Nice poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.