Poets logo

Delusion’s Damage

swept under the rug

By Poppy Published about a month ago 1 min read
14
Image Created on Midjourney

We were drunk on promises and high on healing and overdosing on a belief that we were invincible. Not as individuals but as a fused entity.

We bottled the laughter and photographed the good times and swept our problems under the rug. We wrapped ourselves in bliss, never checking to make sure they weren’t growing, spreading, intoxicating everything around us (they were).

I watched you press a gun labelled delusion to your head and, in turn, pressed a knife of the same name to my throat.

Our friendship was a siren. Beautiful on the surface and decaying on the inside.

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson27 days ago

    Exquisitely written!!! The melancholy was palpable!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so profound and poignant! Loved this so much!

  • ‘We bottled the laughter and photographed the good times and swept our problems under the rug.’ Well said… I agree with C. Rommmial Butler… it’s about forgiveness… for & from both of you.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! Ah, so many of my goodtime friends are no longer with us for many reasons. A long list of names that I inscribed in a secret memorial all my own. This dialogue between the man and the crow from J. O'Barr's "The Crow" comes back to me a lot: ***** * ***** "The resolution isn't about justice or revenge. It's about forgiveness." "Are you mad?!! I could never forgive them!!" "NOT THEM, IDIOT! YOURSELF!!" ***** * ***** I hope you understand the context as the movie doesn't include this scene. The important thing is to forgive ourselves for being willing to love in the face of this great ongoing tragedy of circumstance. We should never resent a willingness to love...

  • Anna about a month ago

    Well written! Great work!😊

  • This must be a Top story, so powerful and sort of reminds me of this song by the Cosmic Rough Riders https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cdl-b8QpmPM which I feature in my piece on the band , it sounds beautiful but the lyrics are frightening

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Honesty kills friendships that are based on ego. This was outrageously fine writing Poppy!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    My word, Ms Thepoet. Incredible. I felt all of it and there are some exquisite words and lines. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.