Poets logo

Your Muddy Boot

A Short Reflection

By MarriannèPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Your Muddy Boot
Photo by Marcus Cramer on Unsplash

I think my heart is surrounded by an acidic mucous.

Vile and green and thick.

Coating my lively organ and denying entry to all those who may try.

So I become neutralised.

I become numb.

My ph rests at 7, a holy number to some, but for me - my unoriginal nightmare.

I feel plain, like dull water that lay in swamps and dare not be swum in.

How I long to be like that salty ocean who begs for embrace and receives it willingly at every call, but I know I am not her.

At least not yet.

All those who enter may tread across my coated heart and I shall not feel a thing. The blisters and thorns and vile green still protect me in phantom.

The weight of your shoe is merely but a feather touching stone compared to the rest.

Be warned not to stick to me, for I know it shall hurt when your muddy boot must be ripped from my flesh.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Marriannè

A broke-arse Biochemistry student who likes to dabble in the arts!

Neil Gaiman is my one true love - and by god do I wish I could live inside his brain.

Lots of Love

M xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.