Poets logo

Your Love is Killing Me

Love Killing

By Moharif YuliantoPublished 27 days ago 2 min read
Your Love is Killing Me
Photo by Vijendra Singh on Unsplash

Your love, a creeping vine, so sweet, so strong,

Entwined my soul in its seductive song.

It bloomed with promises, a vibrant hue,

But now it chokes the light, a sickly blue.

Your touch, a spark that set my heart ablaze,

Now leaves a trail of ash in passion's daze.

Your gaze, a sun that warmed me to the core,

Now burns too fierce, and leaves me wanting more.

You claimed to be the rain upon my drought,

But endless downpours have left me waterlogged, doubt

Festering in cracks where laughter used to bloom,

My spirit withers in this love's consuming gloom.

Like ivy on a ruin, strong and proud,

Your love consumes, leaving me unbowed,

Yet slowly crumbling, losing sight of sky,

My dreams obscured by your possessive sigh.

We built a cage of devotion, gilded bright,

But gilded bars still trap me in the night.

Your jealous grip, a suffocating hold,

Leaves me a prisoner, a story yet untold.

I fight the urge to tear the tendrils free,

For fear of leaving just an empty me.

The world outside, a distant, beckoning call,

But will I find myself when I break this wall?

I crave the air that freedom used to bring,

To dance with shadows, let my spirit sing.

But in your eyes, I see a storm arise,

A tempest brewing in your pained surprise.

The guilt, a serpent, coils around my heart,

Whispering doubts that tear our love apart.

Is it my fault this love has turned to blight?

Do I crave freedom, or simply take flight?

Perhaps this love was meant to be a seed,

To take root, flourish, then scatter on the breeze.

But tangled roots can strangle all that's green,

Leaving a wasteland where beauty has been seen.

Is there a way to mend these broken vines?

To prune the possessiveness, rewrite our lines?

Can we rebuild a love that breathes and thrives,

Where trust and freedom dance, keeping us alive?

Or is it time to let the structure fall,

And gather strength to answer freedom's call?

To face the sting of ending, bittersweet,

And hope a stronger love someday we'll meet.

The silence grows, a chasm vast and wide,

As tears I cannot hold back start to slide.

Your love is killing me, though love's the source,

And that, my darling, is the cruelest force.

The choice now hangs, a burden on my soul,

To stay and wither, or escape and make myself whole.

With trembling hands, I reach for a decision's light,

Praying for dawn to break this endless night.

Elegy

About the Creator

Moharif Yulianto

a freelance writer and thesis preparation in his country, youtube content creator, facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran27 days ago

    This was so profound and beautifully written!

Moharif YuliantoWritten by Moharif Yulianto

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.