Poets logo

Your Brothers Sword

(In)justice We Stand

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
Your Brothers Sword
Photo by Ricardo Cruz on Unsplash

Reality scares me, it shows me a world I do not recognise;

Broken beauty has twisted love into a game that most dispise.

Avoid the broken edges but you'll never quite get in.

So, you give it all. Hoping to find hope of longevity without sin.

Lessened by the masses and raised by the few;

I lost faith listening to unholy gossip sitting on the pew.

In this place, they will think your evil if you don't come back,

Though, I believe it's safer to run from the daemons that hide in black.

Power is a sickness that feeds on the energy of the innocent;

Promising safety to only those who refuse to repent.

March with the army and reap your reward;

Never mind that pain in your back, it is just your brothers sword.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    The line about power - so true.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.