Poets logo

You want to get some coffee?

I think about asking but then I remember everything

By TuliPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
A vast sky with clouds folding into each other greyed through iPhone edits lol

I can’t have ur number

What kinds of wounds will that open up

Will the vibration of my phone sink me into the ground

The dreadful glance over my shoulder every time I check

for

you, my bones tight and weary from expectation

Will I become a shell like last time

My cracks widening every time u laugh

I’m asking u

What will we make of this

Can we just hang out

Or will this haunt me forever

Ur smile in every reflection

Time suffocating us until we can no longer remember what’s it’s like to have held each other’s hands

Will it be worth it

Your number, should I have it

Will it make the agonizing weight of the world feel less heavy

At what cost

Will my mind just loop u in to the other conversations in my head

Or will u be all I see and hear and feel

My casket made ready for me as we speak

What will ur mind do

How heavy will this weigh on u

How do u experience the world

Will u cry at night

Ur alcohol soaked tears burning ur soft cheeks

My hands are tired from prayer

My eyes tired from being witnesses

My imagination tired of hope

My spirit a shadow

I just think u smell like flowers

But I have to remind myself

That flowers die too

My chest is already burning

And I haven’t even asked the first question

Maybe in another world

I’ll take ur number

And we can talk without

Having to worry about the end

Of everything

sad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreakart
3

About the Creator

Tuli

Hi, I hope you feel something from my poetry.

I write primarily for the gracious generation born to lost caregivers

May you one day be inundated with the flowers you always deserved

I also dabble in the genres of the random and corny :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    My casket made ready for me as we speak That line is exactly how I feel when I speak to him. Your poem was extremely relatable because I'm in that same situation.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.