Poets logo

Ghosts

My mother never experienced love

By TuliPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
ID: highly contrasted grey and black image of a forest with a faceless person in the middle

I carry the ghosts of my mother’s mother

And her mother and the one before

They appear relentlessly in my memory

And Forever in my voice

As I try to pull together the words

“I …love you”

Is this really love

Or is it fracture

Can I really love .. I mean the pour into someone kind of love … when I carry generations of emptiness

How do you learn to love when

Your mother was never able

How do you know what to feel when

Your mother only mourned

How do you know how to consent

When you were born without it

I hold your hand

But I don’t know how much longer I can hold

Without haunting you

heartbreaklove poemsart
Like

About the Creator

Tuli

Hi, I hope you feel something from my poetry.

I write primarily for the gracious generation born to lost caregivers

May you one day be inundated with the flowers you always deserved

I also dabble in the genres of the random and corny :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.