Poets logo

You Made Me A Beast

Simply by abandoning me

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Image courtesy of Pixabay

We all live through the ups and downs

Hopefully with help, never ever alone,

Friends, family, standing by your side

When needing a hug, pick up the phone.

***

Struggling alone is extremely tough

Trust me, as I know this only too well,

Most of my life I’ve done it on my own

Nary a soul to help or anyone to tell.

***

If nothing else, it’s made me stronger

It has hardened my heart as I learned,

Relying on others, it never ended well

And I was either spurned or burned.

***

It has certainly helped me be resilient

An expert at difficult problem solving,

It lowered my expectations of others

As I watched relationships dissolving.

***

So these words here are written today

A shout out for supporting me the least,

Your abandonment has truly backfired

Instead of breaking, I became a beast!

************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

social commentary
11

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise Larkin2 years ago

    Wonderfully worded.

  • Mike Miller2 years ago

    I love this so much! Keep being a beast! 💪🏼

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    You put into words so much of my life. Beautiful poetry :)

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    Very emotive!

  • More great words, every day I feel it's time I just stopped writing, I am past my sell by date

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I am fan. It's also inspiration poem for me for sure ❤️🌹

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Powerful!!!💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.