Poets logo

You Left Me Broken

But I'll put the pieces together again

By Mother CombsPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
55
Image by Hands off my tags! Michael Gaida from Pixabay

The day you left me, I was

Crushed

Shattered

You left me completely broken.

I was completely fractured

Damaged

Destroyed

Chipped into small, tiny pieces

But I got up, on feet

Rebuilt

Salvaged

And put myself back together again

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

You left me fractured.

Crushed almost beyond repair

Wishing I was dead

Up I did get and

Put myself back together

Get up on my feet

*** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Broken

But repairable

Destroyed

But will rise again

Unloved

But will love again

Damaged

But will be mended

Dimmed

But will shine again

Humiliated

But will be proud again

Crushed

But will get it together

inspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
55

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (45)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Great job. I love the mosaic image that you put with it; it perfectly fits the message that you are putting across with the poem. Together, they create a bittersweet yet very optimistic image.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wow, this is so powerful!

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Inspiration voiced in words. Powerful!

  • Raymond G. Taylor6 months ago

    Beautiful. Crushed but not defeated. Like the mosaic of the illustration, its beauty comes from the reconstruction of the pieces that form the bigger picture. So well done!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Just read again, good mottos! ☺️

  • J. Delaney-Howe6 months ago

    This is great! The last section is so empowering.

  • This is wonderful. These are the words of a survivor!!!

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautiful and hopeful and heartbreaking. I can see why it's your favorite. Well done :)

  • Test9 months ago

    Very powerful but I like the hopefulness it embodies!

  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Powerful and wrought with emotions - very well done!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    There is hope! Stay focused on growth.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    What a blend of hope and pain ❤

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    I know sometimes when I'm broken I seem unrepairable, but yu can be repaired as you pointed out

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I don’t think I mentioned it yet, but congrats on your superb top story Mother Combs !! 😃👏

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    Very inspirational. So much strength in these words ❤️

  • This is so relatable and I love the message and the feel of it. Broken but repairable. That’s a great sentiment. When you feel broken to always know you can be repaired and that that isn’t impossible. Loved this!

  • SHINY9 months ago

    Thanks

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    Empowering! Congratulations on top story and many more to come❤️💐

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    I loved this. Very well done. There's a real lesson in your words. Growth comes from pain. Congrats on the Top Story

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Very relatable poetry, It’s hard to fixed the broken cracks because of the hunting memory . Congratulations Top Story 🥳🥳🥳🥳

  • This was so powerful! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Beautiful ❤️✨ Well done on your top story too x

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    So much strength here.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Beautifully written & inspiring! Congrats on your TOP STORY! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.