Poets logo

You don’t look autistic

A poem on casual ableism

By Josey PickeringPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
3
You don’t look autistic
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

“but you don’t look autistic”

isn’t the complement you think it is.

You’re twisting a knife under my identity,

scraping away the layers you don’t understand.

You can’t paint over my reality,

You cannot cut it down to fit

into the tackle box of misconceptions

you’ve built around autism.

You choose not to see it in me.

You laugh when I move my body funny

or think I’m doing it for attention.

You get mad when I don’t react

just as you want me to,

and wonder why I can’t just act “normal”.

I’m not normal enough for you but not autistic enough for the viewing of Rain Man projected on a loop on your brain.

As if the diagnosis itself doesn’t give you the answers you need.

Autism Spectrum,

A spectrum of a being amongst a spectrum of beings.

Mental Health
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paige 8 days ago

    love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.