Poets logo

What the Mirror Doesn't Show

Wearing the Truth Behind a Lie

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 10 days ago β€’ 1 min read
2
What the Mirror Doesn't Show
Photo by Marcus Castro on Unsplash

I stand beneath the winking of shaded heavens, holding fast to the brilliance of the moon

As it seizes me within its gravity and pulls me to its core

My breath is obvious against the night like the fight of a December rain and the warm air of June

Nightingales serenade the dark with a deafening hush

Oleander breath spoils my skin, infecting my veins like an inferno

The last remaining wish above darts across in a rush

Only strength I have stems from habitual obligation, I know

Kindness is seen as nothing more than a weakness, or

An invitation for something more

You don't, however, know me as you did before

By Chien Nguyen Minh on Unsplash

sad poetrynature poetryMental HealthartAcrostic
2

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 days ago

    Kindness is often seen as weakness and it annoys me so much. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.