Poets logo

My Tolerated Self

Prose Poetry

By Andi LeighPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
1
My Tolerated Self
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

I'd like to think I'd escape for better days. Even though the needles pricking into my skin may urge me to stay put, we are not meant for boxes and contraptions that will keep us inside. The needles aren't real, they are like bugs crawling on my skin—those feelings will fade with clarity, but some days I am unwilling to step outside of my tolerated self; my bones crumble at the idea of a future uncertain. I'm used to the boxes that keep me in place even though I know I can walk right through them and I'd be fine.

sad poetryProse
1

About the Creator

Andi Leigh

Poet • Novelist • Short Story Writer • Photographer • Cartoonist

Hello! I'm Andi. I enjoy writing poetry, horror stories, and general fiction.

andileighwrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 21 days ago

    Great poem! 🪭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.