Poets logo

You are Perfection

A love poem about someone pining over their best friend.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The title of the poem over scattered pieces of parchment with faded poems written in script on them, the is an ink pen dripping ink in the top right corner/

"~" marks the change in stanza

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are perfection.

~

Your hair,

Your smile,

Those big blue eyes.

~

Eyes that,

I could stare at all day.

Eyes that,

I could get lost in.

Eyes that,

I want to stare at

All day.

Eyes that,

I could get lost in.

Eyes that,

I want to get lost in

But I can't.

~

Your arms.

So strong,

So powerful,

Yet they must be

So tender,

Because,

they belong to you.

~

I wish,

That I could be held,

Wrapped in those powerful arms.

How warm and cozy,

That would feel,

~

How safe and secure,

I would be,

Wrapped in those powerful arms.

~

Being held in those arms,

And looking up into,

Those bright blue orbs

~

I can only imagine,

imagine how great that would feel.

~

But it is not meant to be.

For my secret,

I could never tell.

~

For

I would not want.

To risk losing you,

As a friend.

~

For if I told you.

You would not want

To be around me

~

It would be awkward,

for it would be weird.

~

And you would drift away.

Away from me.

~

And I would be left alone.

Alone with my thoughts.

My thoughts of you,

My thoughts of me,

Thoughts that merge,

In my hopes and dreams

A reality that I crave,

One that will not come to be.

~

You and me,

Together

Forever

~

Only in dreams,

Could this be true.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This poem was written for one a story in my "Young Love with John and Raphael." I posted that story yesterday, it is very very cute and worth the read.

Like this poem? I have more poems and several different series that I am working on. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.