Poets logo

You are my hero

No fear

By Gwendolyn Farris - baldwinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I used to think that a hero was someone that was famous. When you were born I did not know that you would become my hero.

You had obstacles to overcome since day one, watching your small little body fighting to stay strong.

This was just the beginning of what could go wrong.

Your nurses did not know what we would be facing, the heart monitor was just the start of the journey we would be taking.

Your heart got stronger but I knew something else was still wrong, you would never cry, make sounds, or respond to anything loud.

That is when we found out that your hearing was gone.

You got bigger so I thought that we were done but the obstacles kept coming this journey is not done.

You are still not walking so the therapy began, and during this time is when the seizures began.

This small little boy has overcome so much but that still does not keep you from smiling.

You said mama for the first time made me forget about the obstacle that we were trying to fight.

After everything that you have gone through I am glad that you picked me to help you.

You have showed me that no matter what you will still be shining even though it is tough.

The love you give melts hearts all around this sweet little boy nothing can stop you now.

You are my hero because of your courage and bravery these obstacles has not stopped you completely.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Gwendolyn Farris - baldwin

I am a mother of 4 children , I enjoy writing poems in my spare time. My goal is to become an author and have all of my poetry published in a book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.