Poets logo

You Are My Guitar

I Wish I Could Touch Your Strings

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Designed using Canva

You are my guitar before and after the soulful music

since during the auditory poetry you become still

I wish I could touch your strings as you move to any music

playing in the Cosmos far from any black hole’s will to nil

-----

I wish you were also my piano, with blue and white keys

moving under your Greek fingers, as the Cosmos skips a beat

at the same time that my heart skitters when I think of your laugh

cascading around my mind like Jason’s blessed Argonaut fleet

-----

If you were a violin, I would have perished long ago

under the emotional weight of your skin touching my mouth

as it tastes every part of you again along your angles

the circles and triangles traced within for my future drouth

-----

The aulos* playing in my brain, recreating you for me

remembering to include every flaw you never thought of

like believing that you found the truth, when no one ever will

as it lies nowhere to be found like the construct of true love

-----

* A wind instrument from Ancient Greece.

-----

Their guitars laughingly weep.

love poemsheartbreakBallad
3

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Anthi Psomiadou2 months ago

    It is artfully written, and it honours the Greek spirit. : )

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Very interesting way of looking at love - nice poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Guitars are awesome! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.