Poets logo

You-7

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
4
You-7
Photo by Bruno Sousa on Unsplash

I thought I was waiting for you

But really I was waiting on myself

I thought you were the one worth waiting for

Worthy of more

But I was deaf to my own words

An inner voice

Full of scorn had to be shorn

Discarded

For me to be ready

To live regret free

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
4

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    "But I was deaf to my own words". That hit me so hard!

  • Well said, Atomic. Best wishes in this endeavor.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    Inner voices can be a real B!TCH sometimes. Good for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.