Poets logo

Yesterday

A poem celebrating the comfort of human connection

By Bri CraigPublished 2 years ago Updated 21 days ago 1 min read
Yesterday
Photo by Jelleke Vanooteghem on Unsplash

Yesterday

I know that people are cruel and this world gets dark and lonely, but yesterday I was at a wedding and a child held my hand on the dance floor.

~

I don't know why.

~

I didn't know that child.

~

Maybe she held on to keep her balance, maybe she mistook me for her mother, maybe she just needed guidance during the cha cha slide.

~

Or maybe in that moment she realized that the world was indeed a scary and lonely place, so she grabbed my hand for comfort. The way a couple grabs each other's hands at the altar. The way we all as humans grab those closest to us and hold on for dear life.

~

Or maybe in that moment, she realized that the world was the opposite of a scary place. Maybe the little one was just young enough to think that the hand of everyone still feels safe and warm. Even a stranger. Even me.

~

Or maybe the girl grabbed my hand because she noticed that I needed someone to hold my hand. Maybe she saw through my smile and the sway of my hips. Maybe she saw all of it and reached out to comfort me.

~

Because I know that people are cruel and this world gets dark and lonely,

~

but yesterday when that child held my hand on the dance floor,

~

I forgot.

~

~

~

Thank you!

If you're interested in more of my poetry, check out my illustrated poetry book, All the brooding flowers!

social commentary

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Gosh, your poem opened the waterworks in my eyes. This poem was so emotional and touching. I loved it so much!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely!!! Loved it!

  • Test2 years ago

    This is beautiful and so touching. I really enjoyed the format of this one. It's unique, almost narrative, and flows so nicely. Well done!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Oh I loved this :) So many wonderful ways to view that sweet little hand reaching out, and you explored them all so well. Great work!

  • Nice

  • Angel Whelan2 years ago

    I love this! So heartfelt

  • Nick Graham2 years ago

    "Maybe the little one was just young enough to think that the hand of everyone still feels safe and warm." ugh, that part.... Poetry snaps.

Bri CraigWritten by Bri Craig

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.