Poets logo

Laugh Easy

A poem about the comfort of a laugh

By Bri CraigPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Laugh Easy
Photo by Boopathi Rajaa Nedunchezhiyan on Unsplash

Laugh Easy

Dedicated to Dad.

~

Despite the fact that I inherited his sadness,

my father always laughed easy -

I think this too, was a gift to me:

an offer of salve for the burn in my chest.

~

In the heat of it all, my mind sometimes melts

down my spine, and settles, heavy in my stomach.

But I hear the levity in his laughter,

and even though I am flooding, I can smile -

the way night is broken apart when owls hoot,

or wolves howl, or the air flickers from the cage

of my mouth like hot air balloons.

~

We both live with this phantom limb of feeling,

but my father taught me that nothing hugs you

back into yourself like a sense of humor.

My father taught me that you could laugh

until tears build dams in your eyes,

until sound thunders out your thoughts,

or

until laughing becomes easy again.

inspirationalsad poetry
6

About the Creator

Bri Craig

Bri Craig (she/her) is a variety pack writer. She enjoys writing poetry, webcomic features, humor, short stories, and personal anecdotes. Basically, neither of us will ever know what will be posted next!

Let's connect! More about me here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • John Eva2 years ago

    Oh. ohhhh. I like this one. I really like this one. Stupid good (a compliment I swear).

  • This was so wonderful and empowering. I loved it!

  • Hassan2 years ago

    Loved reading this!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Holey moley. I absolutely love this!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Aww, this was a sweet dedication and a wonderful poem. Great work!

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    Very nice!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.