Poets logo

Yesterday Bay

Esperanza para Mañana

By Cat BrooksPublished 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
1
photography by Brookfire

"This was a mistake." The words struggled to escape, stumbling over the lump in my throat. Choking on the story I wrote. I turned away from his loveless embrace and quickly walked out of his place. Questions spinning around in my head. How could I let myself be so misled?

I couldn't look him in the eye. I couldn't let him see me cry.

Not after what he just did to me, so heartlessly.

Did you ever even care for me? Dime lo que sientes por mi.

I jumped in my van and drove off, watching what I thought would be my future fade away in the rear-view mirror. Three hours of driving, crying, going over all your lying in my head. Trying to fight out thoughts of lying in your bed. Our legs twisted together like roots of a tree. Your breath tickling my neck like a gentle wind blowing through the leaves.

You blew through me.

You planted your seed inside of me and left me to watch it grow on my own. You shook me bare and stole my fruit. Your flaming tongue has burned out roots. Now all that remains is pain; grieving a loss of a tomorrow that never came. Hopes and dreams forever frozen in this place. Our yesterday by the bay. Hanging onto every word you say.

We are so different and yet so much the same. How can we be so close and yet so far away?

Dímelo, mi amo. One word and you control my heart.

Una palabra y me das esperanza. One word and you can tear it apart.

Dime que me amas. Tell me that you want me to stay.

Dime que lo sientes and the past can be washed away. We can start again on a brand new day.

Tell me that our yesterday was not a lie. Tell me Esperanza never dies.

Dímelo adiós doesn't always mean Goodbye.

Thanks for sticking with me till the end. If you enjoyed the read, hit that Like button below to let me know.

Subscribe to my tribe.

And if you feel so inclined, a tip would be divine!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Cat Brooks

Just a girl in a van with a dog and a dream, and a penchant for rhyming... and a few other things!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    Lovely writing❤️😉for all that I could read 📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.