Poets logo

Yesterday and Today

Thoughts

By Cathy holmesPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
60
photo by author

Today I thought of yesterday

of love and lives and loss,

of times long past and friends since passed on.

Today I thought of yesteryear

of family’s unspoken words,

and of words that should have forever remained tattooed to loose tongues.

Today, when I reminisce on the yesterdays and yesteryears,

I think of the moments with smiles longs past but never forgotten

and tears long shed but still sitting in a collection bucket in my heart.

Smiles that still reach through the fickle window of time and replicate themselves on my lips today.

Tears that spill from that bucket into my soul,

dampening my eyes with beloved or tortured yesterdays.

Today, I think of tomorrow and wonder what it will bring through the love and lives of lost yesterdays.

Through the thoughts unspoken

and the words that unwelcomely spewed from faded tattooed tongues.

Through the smiles

and through the tears.

Then I realize that everyone of those lost yesterdays

led me to who I am today.

And I smile.

For when tomorrow comes,

when the stars close their tired eyes

and the sun greets the morning with its amber smile,

I will have yet another yesterday

to add to the memory chest in my mind.

And my heart will be grateful that my today will be

just another glimpse of who I am tomorrow,

until it becomes yet another yesterday.

surreal poetryinspirational
60

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (46)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    I truly loved this. It's got a life of its own and the line: "tears long shed but still sitting in a collection bucket in my heart" totally grabbed a skipped heartbeat from me. Great poem! Congratulations on a much deserved Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 8 months ago

    Well said and insightful. ❤️

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    "Smiles that still reach through the fickle window of time and replicate themselves on my lips today." What a powerful line and so true more and more everyday - well done and congrats!

  • Wow that was really amazing! And so insightful and inspirational! Excellent job and so deserving of a top story. Makes me want to look to all the tomorrows with hope!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your Top Story my friend! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Sugan Ya 8 months ago

    Great poem..! Congratulations on top story...

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    So softly melancholy and deep, truly lovely! Congratulations on top story

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Beautifully done, Cathy. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Great to see it up front! Came back to say congratulations 🎊

  • Leslie Writes8 months ago

    Your poem is beautiful and I love this sentiment. 💖

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Congratulations on a well deserved Top Story (poem)

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This is beautifully done! Congrats on the TS.

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Congratulations on Topstory so Happy for You !!💚💚💚💚

  • Congratulations on top story Cathy 🥰😇🥰

  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    This is a very thoughtful poem, Cathy. It is well-written and very well-expressed. It is a really good poem.

  • Dean F. Hardy8 months ago

    A lovely TS. Congrats Cathy, your always digging deep with your pieces.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad8 months ago

    This is a very beautiful poem. I especially enjoyed the lines “I will have yet another yesterday / to add to the memory chest in my mind.” It’s very reflective and inspirational. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Congrats on an incredible top story, Cathy! 💞

  • Test8 months ago

    Wonderfully written and so profound!! Congratulations on Top Story!!💙Anneliese

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Test8 months ago

    I read this the other day and apparently I didn't comment, probably because I was at work and sneek peeking and intended to read it properly when I got home. I am so glad that it became top story as I've got to read your beautiful words twice! Congratulations! 🤍

  • Heidi McCloskey8 months ago

    Such a beautiful poem! Perfectly captures a life that has so far been well lived with lots of love and so much to be grateful for, even the tears.

  • Test8 months ago

    Well Written My Dear...... Great One.......Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    So glad I found this while catching up on FB notifications today! This is absolutely beautifully written and the message is poetry in itself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.