Poets logo

Writer's Block is History

I can't begin, I can't stop...an acrostic

By Holly PheniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
44
Writer's Block is History
Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

Willing restless words to flow, despising some or all.

Revealing insecurities I thought I’d conquered long ago.

I wrestle with the rhymes; the rhythms rise and fall.

Tell a story – well, strike that balance between tell and show.

Each character becomes a friend, even the villain by the end.

Reader, will you feel the same? Will you want to turn the page?

Stories fill a void; on their escape I oft depend.

Building one scene on another, like the tower of a castle,

Love and romance, horror, fantasy, and mystery.

Once begun, the writer’s block is not so much a hassle,

Choose my own adventure as I test my creativity…

Kindling the book dragon’s flame, writer’s block is history.

In the night I wake, ideas stirring in my mind--

Scribble on the page, in the morning what do I find?

How could I have thought this rubbish was a good idea?

In my half-dream state, it must have sounded more advanced.

Some of it I can’t make out, some makes me smile ear to ear.

Toss it out or edit – why not give it half a chance?

Overconfidently posting to a public poetry site,

Regret sometimes slips in and on charges the fight or flight--

Yet on and on I must create, so on and on I write and write!

performance poetry
44

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Mokshaabout a year ago

    With raw honesty and authenticity, the poem captures the writer's struggles with insecurities and the challenge of finding the right balance in storytelling. The author's passion for writing shines through in her depiction of the joy of creating characters and exploring different genres. The poem is a reminder of the resilience and persistence required to bring stories to life and will undoubtedly inspire readers to pursue their own creative pursuits. I highly recommend this poem to anyone who has ever put pen to paper, or fingers to keys, in the pursuit of self-expression.

  • Shannon Loewenabout a year ago

    I enjoy how you articulate the vulnerability that is writing. God bless you as you continue to create! :)

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    First, stay out of my head. Second, I think you understand the writing process better than I ever could. Finally, stay out of my head! ;)

  • Each character becomes a friend, even the villain by the end.❤️💯😉👍

  • Bruce Curle `about a year ago

    Well thought out, Bravo. "Each character becomes a friend, even the villain by the end." This line could have almost been a logline for my last story.

  • Anthony Evans about a year ago

    Great story

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Nice I enjoyed this. Great job!!!

  • This was very relatable, Holly! I wrote a story on Monday and when I wanted to do some tweaking it yesterday, the whole thing seemed like rubbish to me, lol! I guess this happens to all of us!

  • Burn Bookabout a year ago

    ''Each character becomes a friend, even the villain by the end.'' This line right here. Nice piece. It really sums up the life of a writer. We're all just closet masochists, haha 🖤

  • Pōlani Monderen about a year ago

    Really relate to the part of waki my to jot down the thoughts. I swear I go to sleep with a reeling mind which makes dreams and waking very hard to differentiate

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Glorious work. Thank you for being such a great author. I am looking forward to more. More please.

  • Alister V. Casterabout a year ago

    Lovely 🖤

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    I can relate to this too! I've written so many thoughts that I have on paper at times when I'm supposed to be asleep, often when I wake up in the night. I love your description, and I'm glad other writers go through it too.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Erika Edbergabout a year ago

    Love it, so relatable. Especially the late night thoughts and curiosity of what was scribbled the morning after.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    You came back in style! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautifully said. Congrats on the top story.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I love this so much!! Congrats on Top story!! 😍😍

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    And congrats on your Top Story!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story , great work

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    We must be related somehow. How did you know exactly how I feel about writing? LOL. Excellent poem of the joy and dread of writing.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Well crafted and entirely relatable!! I felt that part about looking the later or the next day and thinking 'what about this did I think was good?' Great work, Holly :)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Oh, yes! Very relatable and very well done!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This describes my process to a T. Good job - we must continue and encourage one another. ❤️ And subscribed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.