Poets logo

Wrapped Up in a Sunshiny Day

Poem

By Gregory D. WelchPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Wrapped Up in a Sunshiny Day
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

I love the way the morning sunlight kisses the constellations beside your eyes, and the way your eyes hold mine when it does, the little peeks and the smiles that come after

I love sitting with you on a sunshiny day talking excitedly about the things you're doing and adding a few ideas along the way, the feeling of finding our souls holding hands, their essence laced together

I love how it feels when we write love letters in little moments, and the way the whole world slows down when our eyes connect and you say so much with my favorite look and my favorite smile

I love finding the matching rhythm of my heart in yours and your heart's in mine and the way we pause to notice, to smile, to feel each other so close in this little moment

Let's take a moment away from the busy work week behind us, and all the busy tasks in the week ahead to be here in this little moment, wrapped up in a sunshiny day and all the feels

Tell me your stories babe, I love listening to every one of them, I love the way you come to life when you give me the details, and the way you bring me to life by including me in it all

Sitting next to you in this little moment, I don't have to try very hard to hear your heart whispering all the feels to my heart, and my heart whispering them back

Let's sit still for a few, holding hands, our fingers laced together, chatting quietly about a little of everything and nothing all, a date day that's purely us in all of the best ways, little kisses, and the comfort of being together on a nice day

Tell me your stories darlin, I love watching you as much as listening to you, soaking up your excitement, and the special feeling of when you pause and ask me what I think, inviting me in and listening so closely

I love how we take the most mundane moments and find the magic planted within them, the way we take the simple things of life and write love letters back and forth with them

Just a little moment tucked in some sunlight, sitting still holding hands, lacing our fingers together, feeling each other so closely as we chat quietly about everything and nothing at all

I give you a grin, I lean in and kiss you softly and gently as I caress your face, giving those butterflies a reason to flutter their wings, 

Let's plant wildflowers in each other's hearts, finding magic in the mundane and so much in the simple moments of life, kissing and caressing your face as you kiss me back, tracing love letters on arms, and hands and each other's souls 

Kiss me with your eyes darlin, let's write love letters in little moments, and say so much with little peeks and our eyes connecting, your smile, my grin, and the way it feels to hold each other so close

Close your eyes babe, feel the gentle way my fingers touch your face, tracing their way to your lips just before I lean in and kiss you softly, giving those butterflies a reason to flutter their wings

I love starting the day with you, sunlight kissing your face over a cup of hot coffee, quietly unfolding the day with little chats about everything and nothing at all, let's find a few adventures, share some little moments and scoot in close while we do

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Gregory D. Welch

Kentucky poet & scribbler. Inspiring creatives to live a creative lifestyle. Creating with courage, passion, & purpose-fueled growth. Progress over perfection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.