Poets logo

Words for blue and yellow tears.

My birthday wish for peace.

By TheartistjoskoPublished 2 years ago โ€ข Updated 2 years ago โ€ข 3 min read
3

Today is my birthday

May the universe grant me my wish of peace.

I wish you all the safety in the world and

wish this war on Ukraine would end.

That is my birthday wish.

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I am there right beside you

I am seeing with your eyes

I stand witness to the wave of destruction

Watching invaders in your skies

Their bombs devouring your homes

My eyes burning in a blaze of horror

The wake of displacement as people flee

Daily rituals lost to memories

Replaced with a new dystopian land

Life is striped away, Now fertilizer

Home forever rooted in the land

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I feel with your hands

Hands on a face of a good by kiss

A husbandโ€™s thumb wipes away tears

Mothers clutching there childrenโ€™s hand; now refugees

Hands digging through rubble and debris

Blood covered hands of doctors working

Love in fingers tending to your wounded

Hands that wrap around a child with protection

Fingers pushing bullets into magazines

Hands playing music in bomb shelters

Hands holding flags and signs in protest

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I am smelling with your nose

The last scent of normalcy dissipating

Like a whiff of perfume on an old shirt

Replaced with the ash of burning cities

The plume of smoke trapped in nostrils

The forgotten smell of flowers

Now replaced with gunpowder

Streets filled with the aroma of tank diesel

The dusty rubble buildings, of a hospitals

White bandages soaked in red

The scent of iron and pain and death

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I am hearing with your ears

The terror of rumble fighter jets

Their missiles screeching across the sky

Bombs exploding and buildings crumbling

The pain heard in peoples screams of agony

I hear the heavy tears of children crying

The barrage of bullets cutting through the air

Your collective hearts pounding in basements

The deafening silence of children playing

Sounds of a another time visited in memories

I hear your unbroken spirit, your resilience

I hear that deep breath; that gasp

As a mother watches life leave their child

Her cries; a trapped cacophony in ears

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I taste with your mouth

I taste the salt of your tears

A tongue sour with ash covered anger

Wanting to devour your children's daily memory

Leaving them with amnesia of this war

Eating fears like biting on broken glass

A diet of gunpowder and blood

Eating sadness as you pick up the dead

The flavors of blue and yellow pride

Tasting the pungent flavor of fight

The appetite of courage and bravery

The wishful savory taste of peace

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I feel with your heart

The fear in a child choking on tears

I feel the hug a father gives a child

Off to fight an unwanted unjust war

Engraving moments of love on the heart

I morn with you as you say goodbye

a grandmother, a grandfather, a father,

a mother, a brother, a sister,

a cousin, a friend, neighbors

Fragile bodies and beautiful hearts taken

I feel your heart when you loose a child

As it sinks and disappears into black hole

Lost in an implosion of your chest

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not with you

I breathe with your soul

I maybe thousand of miles away

But my soul tears apart and weeps

I am in your city and in your town

I feeling your pain and your anger

Your feelings of loss and loneliness

I feel your cries of help echoing

The only power I have to shelter you

Trying to protect you from harm

Is expression of paint on canvas

With love soaked ink of words to inspire

๐Ÿ•Š

Even though I am not Ukrainian

Your pain is my pain

Your grief is my grief

I am there with you in your heart

as you are in my heart

We are all Ukrainian

Never give up.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Theartistjosko

In pursuit of my passion of expression through art, writing, poetry, architecture, photography, fashion and the beautiful things to see in this world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.