Poets logo

Word

Flow

By Michelle MorrisPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Whenever I enter an airport, I immediately crave an egg McMuffin with cheese. I have no idea about the Pavlov dog psychology of it but it happens every time. I think airports just smell like McDonalds and therefore...you know what, I'm just going to go ahead and eat my sangwhich.

I'm currently reading, "Dear American Airlines," and think it should be on everyone's list of things to do. Anyone who can write the following line, "...Charlotte was in the hospital for reasons relating to her "uterus" which for all I knew was the technical term for a unicorn's horn," deserves the Nobel Peace Prize.

When I read something brilliant, it triggers my love for words and inspires me to write. I am perplexed by my own procrastination because I don't write as often as I should.

I teach English but rely on spell check or a trusty dictionary or my wordsmiths to spell things for me. Product of my generation.

When my brother and I were kids, we were master for makers. Now, he decided to upgraded my life with this new thing called an iPod and I'm finding myself doing the sidewalk shoulder shrug along the lakeshore. My city. Your broad shoulders. On the promontory I stand inhaling your possibility.

My dad knows how to make the best bowl of popcorn in the Western world. Take one kettle, add oil, salt, seeds, bring the flame to a simmer, and wait for the kernels to pop the top off the pot and grab handfuls. Add butter, more salt, and a side of diet coke. Signature Papa D. Popcorn: it's what's for dinner.

I enjoy a good cinematic adventure and am glued to the set every year for the academy awards. My mom and I have a history of watching them together or if we can't be in the same place, we will be on the phone gossiping about the gowns and glitter with a hopeful glee that our pick will get the Oscar. We've been disappointed in the winners for awhile.

I'm in love with love. I need to be wrapped up in it and consumed by it and because I am, I'm pretty damn lucky.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Morris

teacher, wife, godmommy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.