Poets logo

Woolgathering

idle hands, unspooling mind

By Chloë J.Published 9 months ago 1 min read
15
Woolgathering
Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

Isn’t it beautiful?

My sadness, I mean;

why else would I wear it every day?

/

The palest shade of gray,

and it never goes away.

Is it not the grandest hue you’ve ever seen?

//

Isn’t it charming?

My madness, I mean;

don’t I have such funny turns of phrase?

/

My sweet, untethered gaze

(no one notices my daze);

dementia à la mode—however green.

//

Isn’t it silly?

My anger, I mean;

“all in good fun,” or so the saying goes.

/

Rage all tied up in bows,

only thorns; long gone, the rose,

yet they say displays of feeling are obscene.

//

Isn’t it maddening?

My silence, I mean.

I promise, no one’s more incensed than I.

/

My truths turn into lies.

When I try to speak, I cry.

If I don’t find my words soon, I swear, I’ll scream.

///

fact or fictionsad poetry
15

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • KB9 months ago

    Gorgeous!

  • Test9 months ago

    Brilliant. "My sweet, untethered gaze (no one notices my daze); dementia à la mode—however green." Again, brilliant. I love this piece.

  • Yes, it is, Chloe, to each & every one.

  • Your poem deeply resonated with me. Very beautifully written!

  • Phil Flannery9 months ago

    That was amazing. Obviously sad and personal and raw, but so well crafted.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    'why else would I wear it every day?' yeah, that line hits. amazing work.

  • Duke Promise9 months ago

    Nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.