Poets logo

Women of Taste Part 1

A Journey Through Time

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago 2 min read
1
Sophisticated Comfort (art by me)

Day 61/366 days of writing in 2024

When I was 23 years old, I created this artwork during my design class in college. Nine years later, the original piece was sold, and I decided to recreate it. The replicated version you see here is the result.

Ten years later, when I was 33 years old, I drew two more artworks that were similar in style. I was living in Miami at the time and working in the fine dining industry. These pieces were inspired by the Sobe Food and Wine Festival. Although I always wanted to do something with them, I wasn't sure how to bring them together. I envisioned them as part of a series called "Women of Taste," but I didn't know what that would look like or how it would come together.

Fresa (art by me)

Classy Lady (art by me)

Finally, in my recent art show, I found a way to incorporate all of these artworks into new styles of art that I am creating. It is a series that combines pieces from different stages of my life. What makes it special is that there are artworks from my twenties and thirties being used in new art that I am making in my forties. Each of these women represents a part of myself, and I have written a poem to accompany each artwork.

For now, I will share the first artwork and its corresponding poem.

Sophisticated Comfort

Sophisticated Comfort (art by me)

In the realm of elegance, she does reside,

A woman of poise, her charm amplified.

With every sip of Kona coffee divine,

Her spirit awakens, her confidence refined.

Her eyes shimmer like the gleaming sunrise,

Reflecting wisdom, depth, and endless skies.

A connoisseur of taste, she knows what's true,

Kona coffee, her elixir, her daily brew.

As the aroma dances, enchanting the air,

She's transported to islands, where dreams dare.

The flavor caresses her discerning tongue,

Awakening her senses, her spirit flung.

With every sip, she savors the rich notes,

From volcanic soil, Kona's love she devotes.

Her palate, a canvas, where flavors align,

She sips with grace, like a vintage wine.

Her confidence, a beacon that shines so bright,

A force to reckon, a radiant light.

Her knowledge of coffee, a vast ocean deep,

She navigates with grace, through its secrets she peep.

A woman of substance, her presence sublime,

She conquers the world, one cup at a time.

Unfazed by the challenges that come her way,

She embraces life, with audacity and sway.

In her hand, a porcelain cup, so delicate,

Yet her spirit fierce, bold and resolute.

She sips with poise, a queen on her throne,

Kona coffee her elixir, her power unknown.

With each sip, she inhales strength and grace,

Her confidence unshakable, she leaves no trace.

Intriguing and sophisticated, she thrives,

A woman in love with Kona, her coffee alive.

So raise your cup, to this remarkable soul,

Whose love for Kona coffee makes her whole.

A woman of substance, confidence untold,

With each sip she takes, her story unfolds.

**this is where you can see how I incorporated the drawing into 3D art here.

I love how I was able to incorporate multiple styles and modalities of creativity into this project and show it to the world. It taught me that you never know where old pieces of your art will come forth to create new pieces. As my dear friend Safiya always says,”Creativity breeds creativity.” I’ll be sharing the sister pieces and poems to this one in the next couple of days so stay tuned.

art
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.