Poets logo

Women Dress For The Men

Really?

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 months ago • Updated 2 months ago • 1 min read
12
Women Dress For The Men
Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

It started on social media

(what doesn't, these days?)

'Women dress for Men!" was confidently displayed

as a meme or headline, I forget

Which

and yet it nagged at me like an itch

that I couldn't quite reach.

^

Ah, sure sometimes it looks like that.

At least for me, and my dress

appealing to the male gaze.

But, truly; in many ways

I'm just dressing for The Me

not The Men.

^

It's for The Me I think I am

(taller, thinner, no thighs-touching)

slim jeans painted on,

thank goodness for leggings.

It's for The Me I used to be.

Embracing the BoHo of now for the

girl of the 70's that ached for the

lace and the leather, the fringe and the beads

and reveling in the sweep of a gauzy skirt.

^

It's for The Me that is taller:

I wear the heels that

twist my knee and fool my skirts

into being a bit short.

It's for The Me that embraces the

silks and velvet, the velour a younger

girl dreamt would cloak a Princess

or lure a mermaid from the sea.

^

It's for The Me that's inside:

I drift towards the blues:

the cobalt, sapphire

and teal-tinged hues

that remind me of eyes that once wore

no hood, no bulges or puffy

baggage, like now when I stood

before the mirror and wonder at that past The Me

with eyes so blue-ly enhanced by shadow/liner

and squinting through thrift shop

(or St Vincent dePaul-scored) sunglasses,

between classes

with no where to go but older.

^

But, The Men?

Do I dress for you, too?

Sure. I love the look in his eye

when I try

and get all dolled up.

But we both know

that although cleavage pleases

it's my own pleasure and confidence

that suits me best.

My at-home-The-Man grins at me

and sees all of The-Me-s that ever were

and ever will be

and knows Me for Me.

~~

Comments welcome.

Let me know, what do you wear that You recognize as truly YOU?

Stream of Consciousnessperformance poetryhow toFree Verse
12

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Dressing for comfort, whether socially or alone, that's always my motto. The social comfort includes dressing for her in some way that's at least moderately pleasing, but comfort is almost paramount for me. Ah, who am I kidding? My wife did her best with me, but this is as cool as I can muster (which, in case you haven't caught my drift, is neither cool nor hot in any measure).

  • Awww, your at-home-The-Man! So sweet. I have no idea if I've worn anything that I recognise as truly me 😅 Loved your poem!

  • Hope Martin2 months ago

    YEAAH! You go girl! We don't dress for MEN. We dress for ourselves. We want to feel sexy. The men are just good ego-booster confidence booster tools while we're feeling like a woman! <3

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Why does everything need to be defined. Maybe it’s not a statement for or against. And maybe you like to do things just for you Headline grabbing tricks drive me crazy. I am glad you wrote this .

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Maybe when I was younger, but not any more. And even then, I guess it was still more for me wanted to squeeze into those one size to jeans,.or those short dresses. And heels, oh those damn heels. Don't even own any, anymore.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I will be honest, I hardly dress for men. I try it once with my ex h and it was very uncomfortable. It was not my style. I would never do it again. I love how you end this poem 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.