Poets logo

With Age Comes Wisdom

That is what they say…

By Jupiter GrantPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
With Age Comes Wisdom
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

With age comes wisdom, that is what they say,

I see truth in that statement every single day.

Though I do not claim to be wise and all-knowing,

I can certainly assert that I’ve been, and am, growing.

When young I was timid, frightened, and meek,

I felt like an outcast, a weirdo, a freak.

I was scared of my shadow, I hated myself.

My poor self-esteem destroyed my mental health.

I struggled to get through to the end of each week,

I could never find the ‘inner peace’ we all seek.

But as I’ve gotten older, the passing of the years

Seems to be tempering a lot of my fears.

Life is too short, too fragile to be wasted,

And before I depart, I’d like to know that I’ve tasted

my fill. It’s true that my body is aging,

It aches and it struggles, and often has me raging,

“I wish I was younger, and thinner, and stronger”

But I’m trying not to think like that any longer.

My body has seen me through disease and ill health,

It’s my vehicle through this life, a home for my Self.

It may not be perfect in everyone’s eyes,

(I’ve a wobbly belly, and very thick thighs)

But it’s mine. And I’m still here, though at times life’s been rough.

And with age I’ve now the wisdom to say “I am Enough”.

©️ Jupiter Grant, 2020

Enjoyed this article? Please send me a tip below so I can keep writing.

Jupiter Grant is a self-published author, blogger, narrator, and audiobook producer. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/jupitergrant

More poetry by Jupiter Grant here on Vocal Media:

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jupiter Grant

Writer, Poet, Narrator, Audiobook Producer, Freelancer.

As you may have guessed, Jupiter Grant is my nom de plume. I’m a purveyor of fiction, poetry, pop culture, and whatever else takes my fancy on any given day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.