Poets logo

Wishful thinking

a poem from potential

By Marley Berry-PearcePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Wishful thinking
Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

I could have wished for something else

I could have wished for something more

What is more than what I know?

something unknown beckons me from within

all these scenes inside my head

a fantasy for every fairy tale

important moments stay with me

for reasons not yet known

trestle table stands alone

supporting something unseen

lines of reason spiral outwards

to arrive at meaningless conclusions

all the men who feel abandoned

tonight they are still here breathing

and not yet loved

except from within

their tireless search for marriage goes

hand in hand with life’s pursuit

my doubt is seeded by desire

the buddhists say put out that fire

freedom is calling my name

its fragrance something familiar

calling forth a greater gift

to represent the folding rift

or cosmic miracles

shallow minds will never sift these soils

try as I might

the might of God

is not something I can deny

Yet this glory told in religious texts

evades those very words like hexes

dodging ‘round corridors

making what’s left of right angles finite

this just seems to be my case

for everything I yearn to make

and now I hold the very key

to unlock such a destiny

careful calling out your future

some things will not absolve your duty

service to your fellow human

gold and silver in computers

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marley Berry-Pearce

Finding the way home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.