Humans logo

Onions

Sometimes I don’t cry when I cut onions.

By Marley Berry-PearcePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Onions
Photo by Lars Blankers on Unsplash

Sometimes I don’t cry when I cut onions. That’s when I’m really free. I don’t see what the big fuss is about with freedom anyway. So what if I’m not free. What does it even mean to say, I’m not free, or I’m free? I suppose that means I’m free if I can decide.

Freedom is kind of like a pinball machine. It's almost up to you. But who's to say if you had done things differently, the ball wouldn't be surging toward the middle of the extensions of your fingertips? It's impossible to know, if you've made no obvious errors, which move made things go wrong. It all happens too fast.

That's kind of like life. Some things happen too quickly to register, and before you know it your freedom is struck from you. You're out of balls.

Onions are one of those rare things in life that never fail to get a response. You're crying. It's not you, it's the onions. So when my eyes don't sting and there's no tears, I feel like I've cracked the code. Free will, illusory no longer.

One of the problems with freedom is there's too much choice. Responsibility becomes a prison. With no obligations to anyone except yourself, freedom begs the question. What is worth doing, what is worth achieving?

The problem I have when I'm cutting onions and not crying is that it doesn't feel like any problems need solving. I suppose that's why I'm writing this, to help other people who have no problems. Stop being free and become a slave to your new problem.

Are we all really going to just sit here and let the oceans rise, the forests burn and endangered species die out? Are we all really going to sit here and wallow as hundreds of thousands starve and sleep rough every night? Are we all really going to sit here and imagine all the acts of violence and oppression perpretrated by individuals and groups worldwide?

No, we're not... but sometimes it's really hard to find a tangible way to do anything about any of it. Sometimes it feels like the life we're living, with its intricacies, dilemmas, puzzles and obstacles, is enough on its own to warrant our full and undivided attention. Well, I'm here to divide it, by 2.

Because there's one thing about being a human that makes us different, and that's freedom. We really can do whatever we want, within the confines of our legal and ethical systems, depending on your wealth. With our freedom we can cooperate with one another and achieve monumental feats otherwise impossible on our own. So much of our conundrum is solved by mere collaboration. Freedom insists that we ask our fellow human beings for help. There's a problem that needs solving. Find help.

Help me do what? You ask. I don't know, I reply. What do you need help with? It could be a plan, or lifting something, cleaning your house, an ear, a friendly hug to remind you that there's warmth in the world. You could have an idea, something that you can't do by yourself. There's a problem.

Often your ideas will turn out bogus. The world will spit in its face. Remember it isn't you that's covered in cosmic mucus, it's your idea. There's always room for another go. That's freedom.

When none of your ideas seem to be coming to any fruition, maybe it's time to take a break. Maybe it's a sign you haven't thought enough about what you're trying to do with your freedom. Maybe just love your freedom, sit in it, rest. Rest until your freedom is telling you what to do, giving you ideas.

Rest is where the sadness is. We all know this. Rest is where the onions make you cry, and not just the onions. It's in doing that we can forget all of what we cannot control, and rest is where freedom sneaks back in.

Being with our feelings can help us solve problems, too. So if you don't know what it is, don't fight it - that band with a sad name.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Marley Berry-Pearce

Finding the way home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.