Poets logo

wishes of yesterday

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago 3 min read
16
wishes of yesterday
Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

My wishes were once an elaborate ask. I set the universe to immense task. I asked for wealth and fame and riches. I asked for perfection without any glitches. I asked for the world to be set free and mostly for a family to appreciate me.

I read of people who the world revered and I aspired to be someone they would also endear. I asked to become like one of the greats - like Gandhi, Mother Theresa or MLK. I hoped that I could somehow prove myself worthy enough for people to choose.

I asked for the greatest love ever known. I asked for it all and so the seeds were sown. I was gifted resources and devoured their study. Philosophy, psychology, how to make money. I read and researched theories on love and realised the path outlined from above.

Virtue was the order to follow to find true love in some distant tomorrow. The more I read of those with success the faster I learned how they became the best. Compassion, forgiveness and an open heart were the necessary tools to get a head start.

And those were gained through choice and determination, and ignoring those clutching indignation. Lies told about the rich being thieves were created from the darkness of poverty. Very few actually wear that crown and besides - eventually karma crumbles them down.

For cannibals never live as long as herbivores with love and song. They spend life leeching from weaker prey living in cunning and spiritual decay. Arguably they never live at all they merely exist calculating how not to fall.

The wealthy people to be admired all choose love as fuel for their fire. So I sought to be like each of them, of service to my fellow man. I was already heavily driven to evolve, to view any problem as something to solve.

And on that path I found out this, the irony to seeking true love bliss. It starts with undoing what you are not, in behaviour, reaction and even thought. It’s about aligning with your soul, not chasing some perceived goal.

The love for which I deeply yearned was never something supposed to be earned. Not something to chase, seek or become, I just had to unravel the damage done. I never had to seek out bliss, I only had to undo this.

And now, today, after all this time? I’ve come full circle on these wishes of mine. I ask each day for peace and protection. I ask for guidance and direction. My other wishes are such simple asks, humble requests for all I once had. The life I used to think was bad.

Only two have stayed the same, remaining untouched throughout this game. I still ask for the world to be set free and mostly for a family to appreciate me. The others are but little requests, cherries on top of a cake already dressed.

Oh to have a bath again! To eat fresh raspberries or dance in the rain! To go on a lengthy forest walk or just have a friend with whom to talk. To be in a city or town, watching people go by with laughter or frown.

To smell coffee from some generic Starbucks, to have people glance my way and give no fucks. To hear people laugh and chatter, even join in for a natter. To swim against the ocean tide or take a lengthy bicycle ride.

To grow vegetables and plant trees, wildflowers for the honey bees. To have an open fire at night, to sit in awe of stars and moonlight. To be able to sleep in a comfortable bed, with a soft pillow on which to rest my head.

To live without constant fear or threat, to live in a land where truth isn’t something to forget. To gain back all that I once had, that would make me forever glad.

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetry
16

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    There’s a lot to unpack here, particularly after learning of your recent and current experiences that makes this hold even more meanings. Yet, I’m glad you are here and that you are writing. I hope it won’t be long before you can have all these things again! 😔😊

  • Lies told about the rich being thieves were created from the darkness of poverty. Arguably they never live at all they merely exist calculating how not to fall. to have people glance my way and give no fucks. I loved these lines sooooo much! I had to read this twice to take it all in. So beautiful! Also, at the risk of sounding dumb, who is MLK? 😅

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is beautifully said. Life sure has a way of really pointing out the important things. I hope you get your wish...and soon!

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    Ah, a poem about self-reflection, values, and growth. I love it.

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    Epic. To go from the grandiose wishes to understanding and appreciating the simple things that are most important in life. Enjoyed this journey with you.

  • Frankie Martinelli8 months ago

    You paint a beautiful picture with your words ❤️

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    You really are on a roll with your poetry Kayleigh! This was gorgeously written, flowing so beautifully. I really really hope you do get all those things, especially being able to live without fear.

  • Mesh Toraskar8 months ago

    Oh how wonderful is this. It oozes hope and makes me want to read it again and again (3rd time now)! "To live without constant fear or threat, to live in a land where truth isn’t something to forget." I pray and wish for your wishes to come true for in them you will find what saves humanity!

  • Rhythmic & Powerful💚👌💬

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love this poem! I wished for the same things. The part about cannibals was especially cool! Love the moral in the end! Great work! 😀

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    This sounds so lovely Kayleigh. You named all my favorite things. I would love to plant trees and take a walk with you :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.