Poets logo

Wild thing

Never capture what you can't truly control

By Savannah Deianira LewisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Silence was my only option.

For so long, silence and I had become companions in your shadow.

He and I traded secrets and plans as you made me speak to him.

I know it pisses you off to think you handed me the knife.

I know how confused you are.

I was so unbelievably obedient.

So willing to let you lead.

But you trapped me, a lion in a cage.

You poked me and prodded me and I never roared because I knew it would hurt more.

I just wanted out so I could eat you alive.

The locks came loose on the day you made yourself a victim, after lashing out at me again. It felt too much like when you captured me and I shook the pen apart.

It was then I remembered what beasts like me could do.

I’ll wipe my mouth with a piece of your shirt when they ask me where you went.

I was never meant for a cage and we were never meant to be friends.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.