Poets logo

Human Nature

The girl- more nature than human

By Savannah Deianira LewisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have not seen my home in a long time,

My cathedral made of pine and oak,

My castle where I could point my crooked sword at soldiers made of twisted limbs,

And win every time,

I have not smelled my home in a long time,

Not the crisp leaves on my beautiful ballroom floor,

Not the ice of my winter fortress I spent hours daydreaming in,

Not the petrichor on summer days when my country is created of crystal droplets, enlarging the veins on wildflowers.

I have not tasted the food of my home in a long time,

Have not shared the sweet nectar of clovers with my trusted companions-the bumble bees,

Have not relished in the savory taste of onion weed,

Have not let the flakes of snow dance of my tongue,

I have not touched my home in a long time,

I have not felt the satin of trilliums in my hands, my own personal bouquet,

I have not felt the pricks of thorns in my arm, after trying a secret passage to an unknown part of my realm,

I have not felt my roof made of leaves and branches shake off the afternoon storms onto my head

I have not heard my home in a long time,

The whispers of the fae in my ear,

The song of mourning doves,

The scurry of small creatures who stop to realize I belong there as much as they do,

I wonder if they sit and wonder about where I went,

The girl-more nature than human.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.