Poets logo

Why

The Battle Rages

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Why
Photo by Julia Kadel on Unsplash

I wrote this poem in effort to express the loss of a child, from the view of a friend. When hope is stretched and the desire to go on, seems unbearable.

*

the scream of sirens, breaks the silence

red and blue flash, like Christmas day

tangled in lonely, since your absence

the demons come, while you're away

*

I picture you there, by your window

wonder where your feelings hide

my world has stopped, I'm here in limbo

my world's too cold, to go outside

*

they pound the door, demanding entrance

I sit and watch the handle turn

gone crazy here, without your presence

the world has stopped, it all can burn

*

moments pass by, I see you smiling

I feel warm, as you draw near

the faces foreign, and voice beguiling

it's someone else, you are not here

*

so far away, I feel I'm floating

the rush of air, now stings my face

the many hands, surround me, doting

transporting me, far from this place

*

my hand slips away, escapes the blanket

my body, a weight, with broken parts

my eyes rolled back, inside the sockets

they struggle now to jolt my heart

*

I don't know where to find my next breath

the will to breathe, lost to me now

mercy comes, in shadows of death

my life my all, I now avow

CONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    A beautiful & poignant effort to express what you see in your friend who has been devastated, trying to understand what those of us who do hope you never do. Powerful enough to have fully triggered me. Well done, my friend. Your friend has a true treasure for a friend.

  • This was so poignant and it broke my heart. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wow. This is incredibly powerful and heartbreaking. Great job, my friend.

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    sad. reminds me of the last few minutes of my mom's life that I shared with her as I held her hand as she slipped away. I often wonder if she knew I was there. The dementia ravaged her brain, so I guess I'll never know, but I'd like to think she knew.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Heartbreaking doesn't even do this justice. You penned it so beautifully though. Loss I don't ever want to contemplate or live through.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Poignant and powerful. Well done!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    This is so heartbreaking and utterly vulnerable and sad yet written beautiful and just so many emotions. “I don’t know where to find my next breath” - what a freakin’ line, like a gut punch of understanding

  • Beautifully somber and deep. Very well done!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.