Poets logo

Brushed up

Refurbished

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
16

I'm not where I want to be

(Life has tossed me around)

so, I take one step at a time

(Planted my feet, on the ground)

I'm not who I thought I'd be

(I've had to alter myself)

so, I keep my thoughts in line

(Clear the dust off the shelf)

The things that once broke me

(Made me feel less than I was)

have made me who I am

(And I am better, because)

You can't use my past against me

(I took time needed to pause)

that's where the real me, began

(Chose to be my own applause))

Brushed it off of my shoulders

(Created a new, free)

let it all fall away

(I am all that I need)

That weight, like a boulder

(Took the better of me)

is just too much to take

(Played my own theme)

Painted on a brave face

(Found my favorite key)

and got on with the day

(Sung in the key of me)

As my favorite creation

(Stronger than a tree)

prouder than ever, at the new me, that I've made

love poems
16

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Oh, this is lovely. I have done a lot of brushing, so I totally get where you are coming from. It is great to finally accept oneself.

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    This is a refreshing take on poetry - thank you for sharing this!

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    Quite creative and great for self esteem.

  • This was so powerful! Amazingly written!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    This is awesome. 💖

  • May I join you in your applause, my friend? You are worthy of more than a single pair of hands (though that pair is mighty indeed).

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A proud (justifiably so) and brilliantly written poem, Kelli!

  • Rachael MacDonald9 months ago

    this poem was meant to be sung! good job :)

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautiful poem.

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    This is so damn brilliant and unique. I really enjoyed this poem

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Love this, Kelli!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Really enjoyed this. I also love the formatting! ❤️✨

  • This is my favorite of yours-❤️💯📝👌😉 Although I had the laugh 😆 of my life looking 👀 at those paint 🎨 brushes lol…

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.