Poets logo

Why Doesn't it Fit?

The old "kettle doesn't fit in the fridge door, that's for the milk" thing. For the Snafu Senryu Challenge.

By Paul StewartPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
45
Why Doesn't it Fit?
Photo by Leon Seibert on Unsplash

Why will it not fit?

Why won't the damn kettle fit?

Milk goes in the fridge.

*

No matter the force

No matter the damn angle

Milk goes in the fridge

*

Try hard; your hardest

But the kettle just won't fit

Milk goes in the fridge

*

The kettle won't fit

It doesn't go in the fridge door

Milk goes in the fridge

*

Author's Notes: For the Snafe Senryu challenge, that is sadly based on a true story. One day, I was making some hot drinks and when I was clearing things away, tried desperately to put the kette into the fridge door. I got very irate and frustrated, and couldn't understand why the damn thing would not go in the door. Then the penny dropped.

Interestingly, I saw a clip a few years later from Limmy's Show (A Scottish comedian's sketch show) where he did the same thing, so I felt seen. Later, my youngest (15 year old) son, also did it.

You can find out more about the challenge here:

Hope you enjoy it and share my disbelief at my early senior moment.

Also, if you're so inclined, please take a look at these:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

heartbreaksurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalhumorfact or fiction
45

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Sara Wilson6 months ago

    Congrats on your top story! Sorry I'm late! :)

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    Haha nice! I love the use of repetition!

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Haha! Great little story in Senryu form! Hilarious timing for me to read this- Just yesterday, I squeezed (angrily forced) too many things in the fridge door, and this morning, I tried to pull out the half and half, and the maple syrup went flying. haha! Looks like this was a top- congrats, Pal!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Nice early senior moment! Lol, I’ve found some odd things in my fridge at times..definitely can not compute when tired! 😁 Congrats on your top story Paul!

  • The kettle didn't fit in the fridge but this poet fitted in Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Rob Angeli6 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, that's definitely an essential awkward moment. Damned spatial constraints and the pitfalls of the senses.

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Clever. There's a tyoe of villanelle lurking here too. Live that. Congratulations!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    I am so glad you cleared that up, I was saying to my self…why? Why is Paul trying to jam a kettle into a fridge. Now that is funny

  • Kageno Hoshino6 months ago

    This sure was funny

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Hahaha. Dumbass. Lol. And congrats on the TS.

  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    I love that this made Top story! 🥰

  • Test6 months ago

    Congratulations you 😁🤍🤍🤍

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I sometimes like to put things that should be in the cupboard in the fridge and vice versa. Keeping it fresh! Or not, depending on whether I remember what I've done or not

  • Dana Stewart6 months ago

    Definitely an ‘across the pond’ snafu, however I do love my tea. Loved this Paul!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Of COURSE Limmy did a sketch of this moment. Lol! Now the scene is complete, with you and him together trying to force the kettle in the fridge. Love this one, Paul. Perfect entry. 😂

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Oh dear 🤣. You needed a coffee!

  • What are you guys on? Gimme some of that too 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Kettle in the fridge? Never thought of that...

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Ah, senior moments. I love them not.

  • That sounds either like early onset dementia or something chemical involved. But then your comment made me think either genetics (lol) or exhaustion. If you were tired, at least you didn't do what I did after work one night. I gave myself 2nd degree burns on my hand trying to figure out why the kettle wasn't heating up.

  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    Ah the kettle in the fridge door, a classic for those who are tired. That’s where I find my keys sometimes, as it was 😂

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    LOL!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    We've all done it lol

  • Test6 months ago

    Hillarious- Hazard a guess, we've all done ir! Bloody fridges!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.