Poets logo

Why Do I Not Stand Up For Myself?

Why Would You Ask?

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Why Do I Not Stand Up For Myself?
Photo by Tommy van Kessel 🤙 on Unsplash

When someone wants to talk me down.

I just walk away and put my face to the ground.

They have no idea what I have been through.

Nor do I care what they say or do.

So many love to tell you to do it as they would.

Who made them perfect, and who said I should.

I am tired, all of my life and having to run.

Finding places to stay even when it was not fun.

Missing my mom and the times we could have had.

Trust me it was not fair and it made me sad.

Do not preach to me like you know all.

I know you, your not perfect and I am sure you have made the wrong call.

So why did I share this poem with all of you?

To let you know, it does not matter what you do.

I will walk away with a smile on my face.

I will not walk in shame but grace.

I will show you how I have had to cope.

Staying strong and never giving up on hope.

Hope that people who do nothing but shame.

Learns to understand they are the ones to blame.

Why do I not stand up for myself, for I know I am coping the best I can.

If it is helping me, why would I change it then?.

By Diego PH on Unsplash

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.