Poets logo

Why?

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
7
Why?
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Why?

Why do I have to have a reason?

For not liking someone

For not liking something

Have I committed some kind of treason?

Is it in or out of season?

Why does the world care so much?

About what I do or don’t like

Just let me live

Maybe I’m just tired

Tired of all the social hierarchy

Tired of competing over nothing I’m keeping

Weeping for something that won’t matter in a decade

Just leave me alone

Let me go home

To the things I care about

The people that will be there for me

Why do you care who I spend time with?

It’s my time not yours

You want to be bored

Or miserable with your situation

That’s fine. It’s your time

But don’t yuck mine

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
7

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    "Let met go home " Love that line and love this poem!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Sometimes it just is what it is & there's nothing you can do about it. And why should you, unless of course, you're causing real harm?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.