Poets logo

Who Needs Love When You've Got me?

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Somehow abnormal

To not need attention

To not crave the warm,

Soothing touch

Of affection

Been left to my own

Plot devices

And vices

And try as I might

Nothing seems to excite me

Entice me

Lust used to ignite me

Rewrite me

Completely

But only for her

And for her

What we were

Is no more

My brief blush

With polygamy

Ended before

I could flirt with disaster

And court her calamity

After enraptured

By love in its vanity

I just watched sanity

Slipping away

And still unto the goddess

Of discord

I pray

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.