Poets logo

Who I am Without Him

A poem

By Karma’s CornerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

What I became when I was with him....

You used to wrap your arms around me and call me beautiful....

I used to believe it too, until that beautiful became ugly to me.

That beautiful became ugly when I let you choose what I could and could not wear.

That beautiful became ugly when I let you tell me where to go and who to go with.

And I became ugly when you stopped calling me beautiful.

I became ugly after you criticized me for the length of my skirt.

I became ugly when my shirt showed too much skin.

I became ugly when I believed you when you said I’d never be a model because being a model was slutty showing off that much to men and women.

I became ugly when you cheated on me and I forgave you.

I became ugly when you finally said it. I was ugly.

I became ugly when my rage filled me up like a volcano waiting to erupt and when it did you made me feel like I was to blame...

I became ugly when I seen your women who were beautiful and unique while I was bland and oblique.

I became ugly no more when I realized the pain you were putting me through!

I became beautiful when my mind set changed. You were to blame you were my rage in a 5”9 person behind a screen.

I became beautiful when I ripped down the four years in my mind and found happiness without you.

I became beautiful when I killed you in my mind with a fully loaded gun because you couldn’t live without me right?

I became beautiful when I rose from from the ashes of self hate and self doubt and became who I was.

I became beautiful when I stopped letting a man ruin my life.

And lastly I became beautiful because I let myself become it.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Karma’s Corner

I’ve loved writing ever since I was a little girl. It’s been a years now but I want to share my stories, my poetry and hopefully some day my art with everyone ♥️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.