Poets logo

Who do you see first?

Please register your answer before reading the haiku

By Lana V LynxPublished 6 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
17
My Wife and My Mother-in-Law

Is it his young wife

Or his old mother-in-law?

Who do you see first?

***

An old woman’s eye

Or a young lady’s left ear?

What do you see first?

***

An old woman’s lips

Or a young lady’s necklace?

What pops for you first?

***

Apparently, this optical illusion titled “My Wife and My Mother-in-Law” correlates with people’s age: experiments have shown that those who are younger than 30 saw a young woman looking away first, while those who are older than 30 spotted an old gazing woman’s profile first.

I’m a woman well over 30 and saw the young woman first. I wonder how many “outliers” like me dwell here in our writers’ community. Please share who you saw first and if you are younger or older than 30 in the comments. Gender might be a factor as well, so indication of your gender will be appreciated.

Also, please don’t take it too seriously, let’s think of it as a fun game.

humorfact or fictionart
17

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Old woman ages before young one! I’m definitely no longer young!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Old lady first and then almost instantly, young lady! I mean, in a millisecond!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    old woman first and way over 30. 🙄😃

  • I saw the young lady first. I am still trying to see the old lady. For some reason I don't see her.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous!!! In a few weeks, it will be 76 times around the sun!!! I saw the young female first. Yes! Fun Art!!!

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I see my parents having a screaming argument while I hide under a bed...and a hot lady ignoring me. ;)

  • I first saw the gorilla holding a goldfish. Just kidding. I first saw the young lady looking away. (I am over 30)

  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    I first saw the older woman (I’m 25) but with effort I can see the young woman too. Really it’s a fun effect, I wonder what the one we see says about us.

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    A young elegant woman looking away

  • I’m under thirty, saw the young woman!

  • Test6 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic work

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow, this was a very interesting read. I am over 30- I saw a Mother-in-law!

  • A lady looking away, love things like this

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    45 years old and saw the young woman first.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I'm old, but I saw the young woman. Had to look several times to find the old one.

  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    I’m 30 X 2 plus, male, and it’s the mother in law that I saw 😳😳

  • I'm a 33 year old female and I saw a young woman looking away first. Only with your clues in the Haiku I saw the old lady.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    The young lady I saw first, but very quickly saw the old gramma. I love these illusions! Oh, I'm 25, female. Interesting little game. I'll be popping back here to read everyone else's comments. :D Also, great haikus. I had no idea the name of this illusion, and it's worthy of being shared. How poetic!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Young lady looking away

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.